Jet Skis |

Jet Skis

The Associated Press

The National Park Service’s new requirements on the use of Jet Skis and similar personal watercraft in federal parks, recreation areas and seashores:

-Continued use indefinitely:

Glen Canyon (Arizona-Utah), Lake Mead (Arizona-Nevada), Amistad (Texas), Lake Meredith (Texas), Bighorn Canyon (Montana), Chickasaw (Oklahoma), Curecanti (Colorado), Gateway (New York), Lake Roosevelt (Washington), and Whiskeytown-Shasta-Trinity (California).

-Continued use for 2-year ”grace period” during which parks must obtain formal approval from Washington headquarters if use is to go beyond the two years:

Assateague (Maryland-Virginia), Cape Cod (Massachusetts), Cape Lookout (North Carolina), Cumberland Island (Georgia), Fire Island (New York), Gulf Islands (Florida-Mississippi), Padre Island (Texas), all national seashores; Indiana Dunes (Indiana), Pictured Rocks (Michigan), both national lakeshores; Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area (Pennsylvania-Delaware), and Big Thicket National Preserve (Texas).

-The areas where Jet Skis are being used, but no longer will be allowed under the new regulation:

Biscayne (Florida), Isle Royal (Michigan), Glacier (Montana), Olympic (Washington), Grand Canyon (Arizona), and Canyonlands (Utah), Voyageurs (Minnesota), all national parks;

Canaveral (Florida) and Cape Hatteras (North Carolina), both national seashores; Golden Gate National Recreational Area (California); Apostle Island (Wisconsin) and Sleeping Bear Dunes (Michigan), both national lakeshores; and St. Croix National Scenic Riverway (Wisconsin and Minnesota).

-Where Jet Skins previously were banned:

Yellowstone National Park (Wyoming-Montana-Idaho), Everglades National Park (Florida), Buffalo National River (Arkansas), Ozark National Scenic Riverways (Missouri).