Lawmakers boost fishing and hunting fees to balance Wildlife budget
Legislation increasing hunting and fishing fees in Nevada is headed for Gov. Kenny Guinn’s desk.
Senate Bill 420 will raise an estimated $6 million to pay for operation of the Wildlife Department.
In addition, the legislation increases the penalty for poaching deer, elk, antelope and other wildlife without a license.
Beginning next spring, resident fishing fees will increase from $20 to $25 and nonresident permits from $50 to $65. It raises the price of a trout stamp from $5 to $10 per year.
Resident hunting licenses will go from $23 to $29 and nonresident hunting licenses from $110 to $138.
A combination license will cost $195.
Resident deer tags will increase from $15 to $30 and nonresident tags from $60 to $240.
The legislation also imposes a $3 fee for habitat conservation and raises motorboat ownership certificates by $10 to $25, depending on the size of the boat.
There are a variety of other increases in the bill.
Current Nevada law imposes a gross misdemeanor penalty on poachers. SB420 would allow a felony charge to be filed, but give the judge the power to reduce it after considering the nature of the offense and circumstances surrounding the killing.
Some sportsmen had called for the increase saying poachers kill wildlife and leave the state. If the crime is elevated to a penalty, their names would go on a list enabling police in other jurisdictions to arrest and hold them for return to Nevada.