Local teams compete in LEGO match | NevadaAppeal.com

Local teams compete in LEGO match

Nevada Appeal Staff Reports

Eagle Valley Middle School fielded three teams in the Northern Nevada First LEGO League competition at Sparks High School. The teams were the Jr. Geek Squad made up of Wesley Sonnemaker, Adam Daniels, Jessica Preston and Yamaa Daoudi. The LEGO Bombs with Cassie Mitchell, Kody Warmkessel, Ariana Coulter, Jessica Taylor and Sam Wilson. The third team from EVMS was the R.O.B.S with Rylan Fancher, Darian Montalvo and Juston Dolliver.

The Jr. Geek Squad brought home a trophy for presentation.

The teams, joined by competitors from Carson Middle School and Empire Elementary School, were among 23 to compete in the third annual Northern Nevada First LEGO League Championship Tournament on Dec. 8.

The league’s Senior Solutions theme challenged fourth- through eighth-graders to design solutions for the elderly.

Judged in Technical Design, Core Values and Project, students learned more than programming and engineering concepts.

Through the project, teams research obstacles facing seniors, then suggest ways to improve their quality of life – helping them stay independent, engaged and connected.

Challenge 2012 FIRST LEGO League Northern Nevada Award Winners:

Champion’s Award: Bricks on the Brain Team, coached by Richard Drewes

Robot Performance

First Place Incline: M Cubed (Mustangs Mindstorm Mayhem), coached by Scot Duncan and David Monachino

Honorable Mentions: Bricks on the Brain, coached by Rich Drewes; Robuddies, Empire Elementary School, coached by Rena Huntington; and The PAC MEN, coached by Rick Frewert, Kate Milby

Judges’ Choice Award: Solons, coached by Mary Stanley, Carson Middle School

This special award recognizes the genuine empathy the teams displayed for Seniors throughout the season.


Mechanical Design Award: The PAC MEN, coached by Richard Frewert and Kate Milby

Strategy and Innovation Award: The T.I.G.E.R.S, coached by Bob Kirk, Mason Valley 4-H

Programming Award: M Cubed, coached by Scot Duncan and David Monachino

Core Values

Inspiration Award: Illusion, coached by Holly Young, Mendive Magnet School

Teamwork Award: Bionic Stallions, coached by Karin Hester, Smithridge STEM Academy

Gracious Professionalism Award: The FLLUBS, coached by Michelle Habdas and Dr. Jenny Salls, Clayton Middle School


Presentation Award: The Junior Geek Squad, coached by Brian Kilgore, Eagle Valley Middle School

Innovative Solution Award: Dan Pike and Justin Major, Boys and Girls Club of Truckee Meadows

Research Award: Hunsberger Robotic League, coached by Helen Yung, Hunsberger Elementary

Special Awards

Volunteer of the Year Award: Patti Poston, Homeschool Network, Virginia City

Young Mentor Award: Justin Major, UNR Wolfpack STEMducation Club President

Team Spirit Award: Illusion, Mendive Magnet School

Special Feature: Operation Pinestorm Team Video

Junior Awards

Robust Design Award: Skaterbots, Empire Elementary School

Amazing Movement Award: Storm Troopers, Coral Academy of Sciences

Inquiring Minds Award: Lego Seniors, Coral Academy of Sciences

Team Spirit Award: Superior Seniors, Coral Academy of Sciences

Out-Of-The-Box Award: The Inventorsm, Desert Montessori School

Amazing Moves Award: The Makers, High Desert Montessori School

Effort and Learning Award: The Movers, High Desert Montessori School

Construction Innovation Award: The Minecrafters, Carson City Neighborhood Team