Night of the Arts set for Dayton High |

Night of the Arts set for Dayton High

Nevada Appeal Staff

Dayton High School will host a Night of the Arts from 6 to 8 p.m. April 3. Among those to be honored are students who placed in the regional Scholastic Art Awards.

The are: Tim Taylor, Mirela Ochoa, Bradi Gontang, Cheyanna Burrows and Taylor Zubey, who all received poster awards.

Scholastic Art Award recipients are: Tim Taylor, honorable mention; Savannah Parsons, honorable mention; Brandi Gontang, honorable mention; Alex Knudson, gold key; Sara Cornwell, gold and silver keys; Tobin Volberding, silver key; and Chantel Dean, honorable mention.

• • •

Dayton High School’s Academic Team took first place in the state competition at Lowry High School in Winnemucca on March 16.

Team members are Brittni Anderson, Lauryn Bailey, Jackson Fitzsimmons, Marielle Hunt, Harrison Masters, Brandi Gontang, Jerome Lupena, Alyssa Walters, Katrina Breithaupt, Courtney Gates, Tonya Harlow, Aubrey Hunt, Joseph Law, Marjorie Meeks, Elena Watts, William Fitch, Alexander Knudson, Veronica Scott, Ethan Galloway and Kaia Galloway.

• • •

Dayton High School’s yearbook was nominated for best cover, theme and overall presentation. Students involved were Keelee Fisher, Dillon Selmi, Kelly Combs, Isadora Villa, Tyler Aquino, Kyra Mills, Leisja Estrada, Rhythm Roberts, Shannon Waski, Brooke Scott, Jessica Maraven, Debora Cruz and Taylor McKinney.

• • •

Dayton High School leadership earned the Silver Star Award from the Nevada Association of Student Councils. Among other accomplishments, the group raised $1,800 for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Foundation. Officers are Samantha Gillenwater, president; Chyanne Corley, secretary; Ian Strey, treasurer; Sara Torgenson, historian; Cameron McGifford, spirit commissioner; and Taylor Ingersall, public relations.

• • •

Culinary arts student Ethan Galloway earned second place in the SkillsUSA regional contest. Michael Quevedo and Tyler Lersch also competed.