School employees recognized for service |

School employees recognized for service

Teri Vance

More than 321 years of experience will be leaving the Carson City School District this year. Teachers and staff members who have been with the district for more than 10 years were honored at this week’s school board meeting.

Anne LeFevre, a computer teacher at Seeliger Elementary School since 1990, thanked her husband for his support but gave credit for her career to her son.

“I want to thank my son Aaron, who taught me to use a computer when he first got one, when he was 13,” she told the board.

George Rowland will leave after working as a custodian for 23 years.

“It’s just made a wonderful memory for me and my family,” he said. “I can’t thank you enough.”

Jeanette Blanco worked as a teacher’s aide for students learning English as a second language. She compared her students to a blossoming rose.

“You watch them budding, then you watch them turn into the most gorgeous flower you’ve ever seen,” she said.

Leaving her students will be difficult, said Jeri Haven-Bellona, a counselor since 1994.

“I’ve worked with some great staff and some great administrators,” she said. “But I think I’m going to miss the kids the most.”

Carson High School

Karen Chandler, drama teacher, 1989-2012

Jeri Haven-Bellona, counselor, 1994-2012

Jonathan Lang, special-education teacher, 2001-2012

Michael Longero, American government teacher, 1995-2012

Dena Minton, special-education teacher, 1984-2012

Pamela Regan, algebra II and geometry teacher, 2000-2012

Carson Middle School

Jackalyn Shannon, sixth-grade social studies teacher, 1996-2012

Fremont Elementary School

Mary Berge, fourth-grade teacher, 1999-2012

Jeanette Blanco, ESL teacher’s aide, 1993-2012

Judy Holloway, first-grade teacher, 1998-2012

Sandra Irvin, music teacher, 1994-2012

George Rowland III, lead custodian, 1989-2011

Mark Twain Elementary School

Sandra Steele, kindergarten teacher, 1992-2012

Seeliger Elementary School

Anne LeFevre, computer lab teacher, 1990-2012

Prison Education Program

Wayne Moore, auto shop teacher, 2001-2012

Student Support Services

Keith Croskery, director, 1988-2012

Kathleen Moore, senior office specialist, 1989-2012

Operation Services

Michael Smith, skilled building maintenance worker, 2001-2011