NFB‘s 97th annual meeting |

NFB‘s 97th annual meeting

Nevada Farm Bureau
From left, back row, are Nevada Farm Bureau President Hank Combs, Clark County FB President Rick Huskins, Area 3 Director Carla Pomeroy, Churchill County FB President Julie Wolf, YF&R State Chair Dann Mathews, WLC State Chair Cindy Hardy, Lyon County FB President Darrel Pursel, White Pine County FB President Tom Baker, Humboldt County FB President Marty Muratore, Area 1 Director Jim Hardy and Area 2 Director Craig Shier. From left, bottom row, Douglas County/Carson City FB President Woody Worthington and NVFB Vice President Bevan Lister.
Nevada Farm Bureau photo |

Nevada Farm Bureau recently held its 97th annual meeting in Elko over a three-day period from Nov. 14-16.

The event is the one time a year that Nevada Farm Bureau members from all over the state get together to meet, gather information on different changes in Nevada agriculture, and vote on policy to be carried on to the legislature to create the voice for Nevada agriculture.

This year’s event had more than 12 sponsors and 10 exhibitors from corporations involved with Nevada agriculture. Platinum sponsors included Newmont Mining Corporation and Country Financial Insurance.

The informational presentations included Nevada water Law, the new Vet Feed Directive, federal lands becoming Nevada lands, becoming an agricultural advocate, working with federal land managers on sage grouse conservation and your role in growing an effective farm bureau.

The second day saw different Young Farmer & Rancher events including American Farm Bureau representatives speaking to Nevada YF&R members on how to have a beneficial state YF&R program. The annual Nevada Farm Bureau Young Farmer and Rancher Discussion meet also took place with the general rounds throughout the day and the final four round during the awards dinner, with the winner being Charlie Mann, an FFA Teacher from Gardnerville .

The awards dinner that night included awards presentations. These awards included Recognition for Membership Growth at the county quota level, presented to the county presidents from Churchill County, Lyon County, Humboldt County, Clark County, Elko County and Douglas County/Carson City; a highlighted award given from the Nevada Agricultural Foundation for Outstanding Ag In The Classroom Volunteer to Diana Vesco of Humboldt County; and recognition given to the state board members who had 100 percent cooperation in all the board meetings throughout 2016.

Following the General Session, the Election Committee presented its nominees for the State Board and the delegates sent in their secret ballots. President Hank Combs was re-elected into being the 2017 Nevada Farm Bureau president; Bevan Lister was re-elected to vice president. Cindy Hardy was re-elected to Women’s Leadership chair; and Marlene Shier was re-elected to Women’s Leadership vice chair. All will serve a one-year term. Craig Shier was re-elected to Area 2 director for a two-year term.