FILING FINAL: Five candidates for Carson City mayor |

FILING FINAL: Five candidates for Carson City mayor

By Anne Knowles

The candidates for local Carson City offices in the upcoming election are set.

The race for Carson City mayor attracted five candidates.

Tod Jennings and Jim Shirk jumped into the race Friday, joining Supervisor Lori Bagwell, Nathaniel Killgore, and Aaron Sims. They are vying to replace Mayor Bob Crowell, who was first elected in 2008 and is termed out.

Shirk is a former supervisor from Ward 4 who lost his re-election bid for that seat when he ran against Supervisor John Barrette in 2016.

As expected, Ronni Hannaman, executive director, Carson City Chamber of Commerce, filed today for supervisor Ward 2. And at the end of the day, Stacie Wilke-McCulloch, a Carson City School Board trustee, filed in Ward 2 as well.

Also in that race is Lorne Houle, who ran for sheriff in 2016, and Maurice White, who ran for Ward 2 four years ago. They are competing for the seat held by Supervisor Brad Bonkowski, who is not seeking re-election.

Three candidates are running for supervisor Ward 4 to replace Barrette who is not seeking re-election either. Ronald Bratsch filed Thursday, joining Lisa Schuette and Michael Smith, who both filed in the first week.

All those races will be on the ballot for the primary June 9. The top two vote getters in each race will then move to the ballot for the general election on Nov. 3, unless any one candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote and wins election in the primary.

Three districts for Carson City School Board trustee are open. Two districts each attracted only a single candidate so Laurel Crossman, District 2, and Michael Walker, District 5, will be elected without contest.

Joe Cacioppo, who is seeking re-election, and Joy Trushenski, will go straight to the general election ballot for school trustee, District 7.

Friday was the deadline for candidates to file with the Clerk-Recorder.