Two former governors on Gibbons’ transition team |

Two former governors on Gibbons’ transition team

Appeal Capitol Bureau

Two former governors have agreed to lead the transition team for Gov.-elect Jim Gibbons.

Richard Bryan, a democrat and former U.S. senator, governor and attorney general, will be joined by former governor and attorney general Robert List as well as outgoing Lt. Gov. Lorraine Hunt – both Republicans.

“Regardless of our political affiliation, as Nevadans we should do all we can to enable the governor-elect to meet his obligations to all citizens of the state,” Bryan said. “I applaud this bipartisan approach.”

List described the transition period as critical for an incoming governor, adding he is pleased to join the effort.

His statement was echoed by Hunt.

In addition, Gibbons said Las Vegas businessman Monte Miller and Northern Nevada businesswoman Patty Wade will be co-directors of the effort to identify key issues facing the Gibbons administration and find qualified candidates for appointed positions under Gibbons.

A Gibbons spokesman said more members of the team will be announced within the week.

Gibbons will be sworn into office Jan. 1, replacing Gov. Kenny Guinn who is completing his second four-year term.