Recent Stories | NevadaAppeal.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Guy Farmer: Press freedom on the Comstock

March 23, 2019 — Dear Judge (James) Wilson: No matter what Lance Gilman says, Sam Toll is a journalist. That said, let's examine press freedom, or the lack thereof, in Northern Nevada. I'm writing about this hot-button issue because I had the pleasure of meeting and talking to online

Learn more »

John Bullis: Which type of trust is best for you?

March 22, 2019 — There are many different types of trusts. If you meet with an estate planning attorney, you will be more likely to choose the type of trust that best meets your goals, desires and situation. The most popular trust is a grantor (also known as living)

Learn more »

SILVER DOLLARS AND WOODEN NICKELS: There he is, Mr. Carson High

March 22, 2019 — Silver Dollars and Wooden Nickels is a weekly feature in the Appeal's Opinion pages in which the Appeal gives Silver Dollars to those who deserve recognition and occasionally a Wooden Nickel to those who deserve criticism. SILVER DOLLAR: To Cameron Rudy who was chosen as

Learn more »

Talk of the Town: Tanja Musselman Photography

March 22, 2019 — Are you excited about your life With the job you need to do? Tanja Musselman is your photographer She will do the job for you "Tanja Musselman Photography" It is right here in our town From the "BAC-Expresso Yourself Cafe" To the "Gather Restaurant" and

Learn more »

JoAnne Skelly: Careful with wet soils

March 21, 2019 — I'm ready for spring and suddenly, after multiple snow and rain events, it's here. However, the weather forecast is for more showers through the end of March. We have had more than 6 inches of rain at our house in February and March. With all

Learn more »

The Popcorn Stand: Cow apparently craves Chick-fil-A

March 21, 2019 — Now this is absolutely awesome. It's right up there with the camels running loose through neighborhoods although they apparently didn't do it on their favorite day, Wednesday, Hump Day. But my fascination with animals running loose continued to be peaked when this arguably weirdest example

Learn more »

Letters to the Editor for March 20, 2019

March 20, 2019 — Truism of faith I am a registered Democrat. However, I do not agree on all the issues that Democrats stand for. The big issue is their universal health care for all. Sounds all warm and fuzzy. But dig deeper. A vet who is seeking health

Learn more »

Protecting the innocent babies

March 20, 2019 — "If there is one thing we should all agree on, it's protecting the lives of innocent babies." President Donald Trump, Feb. 26, 2019 On Feb. 25, a bill called the Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection Act was voted on in the U.S. Senate. It failed to

Learn more »

Co-opting a country

March 20, 2019 — There are two ways to co-opt a country. The first is a takeover via a military coup. The new leader typically immediately takes control of the press and disarms the citizenry. They are then free to do pretty much as they please until the next

Learn more »

Greg Dill: Medicare can help you stay healthy

March 20, 2019 — You may have heard something lately about "preventive health care." What does that mean? At its most basic, preventive health care means living a healthy lifestyle. Eat a balanced diet. Exercise regularly. Maintain a healthy weight. And stop smoking. Like anyone else, people with Medicare

Learn more »

Ursula Carlson: The right wing propaganda media machine

March 20, 2019 — 40,000 online sources; 4 million political stories. The above analysis was made possible due to three academics working together from data collected through Media Cloud, an open platform whose founder and technical architect, Hal Roberts, is a fellow at the Berkman Klein Center for Internet

Learn more »

The Popcorn Stand: Dream on. Marisa. Dream on.

March 18, 2019 — Marisa Servantes really loves to sing "Dream On." And she can belt it out with the best of them, especially on that really high "Dream On" part. I know Marisa Servantes. She has Down syndrome. But I don't see her as someone who has a

Learn more »

Jim Valentine: The many levels of agreements

March 18, 2019 — Agreements come in many shapes and sizes. You meet, you talk, you agree, done deal … right? Not always. It is important to remember that in real estate everything must be in writing. That doesn't mean that you can't have an implied agreement or even

Learn more »

Get Healthy Carson City: Kick the tobacco addiction on Kick Butts Day

March 18, 2019 — Kick Butts Day began in 1996 to help youth be strong, stand up, speak out and take control against "Big Tobacco." Teachers, youth leaders and health workers plan events to raise awareness of the tobacco use problem in their state or community. This day is

Learn more »

Trina Machacek: Constants will change

March 18, 2019 — Some things are constant. I look forward to them. It is calving time, and consistently each year I look forward to seeing the new little fellas in fields running in the warm sun with their tails up as they kick at life. Kittens are coming

Learn more »

Ken Beaton: Cold enough for you, Bucko?

March 17, 2019 — SCOW is an acronym for the four worst conditions a person can experience together: Snow, Cold, Old (age), and Wet. Of the four conditions, we don't have any control when it comes to Old or Snow. First, being "old" is a relative term. Is 60,

Learn more »

Faith & Insight: Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

March 17, 2019 — Sunday is St. Patrick's Day. It was never a big holiday in my family when I was growing up. We would wear green to avoid being pinched, but that was the extent of our celebration. A few years back, I read the history of St.

Learn more »

Letters to the Editor for March 16, 2019

March 16, 2019 — Denying forgiveness to Muthana is rejecting Christian values American ISIS bride Hoda Muthana wants to return from Syria. Guy Farmer agrees with Trump that she shouldn't be allowed to come home because on the day of her birth her father was a U.N. diplomat exempt

Learn more »

Guy Farmer: Atkinson gives politics a bad name

March 16, 2019 — As we know, money and politics mix together about as well as oil and water. Nevertheless, money is the mother's milk of American politics, and that's a sad state of affairs in the world's greatest democracy. We had a high-profile Silver State example of what

Learn more »

SILVER DOLLARS AND WOODEN NICKELS: CHS musicians truly superior

March 16, 2019 — Silver Dollars and Wooden Nickels is a weekly feature in the Appeal's Opinion pages in which the Appeal gives Silver Dollars to those who deserve recognition and occasionally a Wooden Nickel to those who deserve criticism. SILVER DOLLAR: To the Carson High School Wind Ensemble

Learn more »