Recent Stories | NevadaAppeal.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

LVN Editorial: NIAA Board of Control doesn’t play fairly

June 19, 2018 — The Dayton High School administration, coaches and parents discovered how inept the NIAA Board of Control is when pure logic decisions override protection of their fiefdoms. Believe us when we say we feel your pain because Fallon faced the same problems, the same (il)logical arguments,

Learn more »

Glen McAdoo: The Mueller investigation (opinion column)

June 19, 2018 — President Trump, Vice President Pence, and loud mouth Rudy Giuliani are insisting that Special Counsel Robert Mueller's investigation into Russia's involvement in our presidential election in 2016, has gone on long enough and must end. Give me a break. Lawrence Walsh's investigation of the Iran-contra

Learn more »

Fred LaSor: Coming of age in Zaire

June 19, 2018 — While I was stationed in Zaire (now the Democratic Republic of Congo) in the late 1970s, I had the good fortune of being invited to a coming-of-age celebration for a pair of twin boys in a remote village. The invitation was extended by a man

Learn more »

Letters to the editor for Tuesday, June 19, 2018

June 19, 2018 — Levitt AMP series kicking off with expanded handicap access On behalf of the dedicated and amazing staff and volunteers of the Brewery Arts Center, I would like to thank the community for voting for the BAC to receive the Levitt AMP grant for the third

Learn more »

An update on IRS happenings

June 18, 2018 — IRS audit rate is relatively low. Individual returns had about one out of 167 returns audited. Most of those were done by mail with just one or two issues to be resolved. The audit rate for C corporations (regular corporations that pay their own tax)

Learn more »

The Popcorn Stand: Give me a Redneck invention

June 18, 2018 — I'm not exactly sure what a Redneck is, but I know one when I see one. And while Rednecks are made fun of, they actually come up with some pretty good ideas. When it comes to the saying necessity is the mother of invention, Rednecks

Learn more »

June 18, 2018 — Thank you to those who helped return dogs On Tuesday, June 5, our two min pins managed to get through a half latched gate about 6:30 a.m. Usually they are back within a few moments, or a neighbor brings them home or we go out

Learn more »

Greg Dill: Know your Medicare rights

June 18, 2018 — As a person with Medicare, do you have any rights and protections? You certainly do! You have rights whether you're enrolled in Original Medicare — in which you can choose any doctor or hospital that accepts Medicare — or Medicare Advantage, in which you get

Learn more »

Nevada Appeal readers share Father’s Day tributes

June 16, 2018 — World War II vet a role model, playful trickster My father taught my brother and I to respect people. He had a real good personality and was constantly playing tricks on different people. He had a sew sheep and was always bragging about his Suffolk

Learn more »

Letters to the editor for Sunday, June 17, 2018

June 16, 2018 — Liberal attacks on Trump ignore the truth Regarding the Sunday Appeal editorial and letters attacking President Trump and patriotic America: Lefty hypocrites over time have bounced from radio silence on Chappaquiddick to "I believe Anita Hill" to omertà on Bill Clinton's many peccadillos and victims

Learn more »

SILVER DOLLARS AND WOODEN NICKELS: It’s Fathers Day, so let him sleep

June 16, 2018 — Silver Dollars and Wooden Nickels is a weekly feature in the Appeal's Sunday Opinion pages in which the Appeal gives Silver Dollars to those who deserve recognition and occasionally a Wooden Nickel to those who deserve criticism. SILVER DOLLAR: We thank all of our fathers

Learn more »

Cheers & Kudos: FISH thankful for help with Have a Heart Fundraiser

June 16, 2018 — Friends In Service Helping would like to thank the community for its invaluable help at our Have a Heart Fundraiser! In particular, FISH would like to thank the following people and businesses who made its celebrity waiter fundraisers possible and successful: Cliff Sorensen and Danielle

Learn more »

Ken Beaton: Create memories with your father

June 16, 2018 — Unless you're a dad you probably forgot today is Father's Day. Now you're in a panic, you haven't bought a card or a gift for your dad! How about giving your father the best gift ever? Your time. Think about it. When you give the

Learn more »

Talk of the Town: Mobile masseuse has exactly what you ‘knead’

June 16, 2018 — Do you know the difference Between a want and a need? A need is a necessity And a want is just to please Yes, it is a play on words It's called "Knead Mobile Massage" You can go to his office Or he will come

Learn more »

Teri Vance: Missing my dad on Father’s Day

June 15, 2018 — Father's Day has always been somewhat of a complicated holiday for me. I loved my dad, and we spent a lot of time together — growing up on a ranch meant we worked, played and lived as a unit — but expressing our feelings wasn't

Learn more »

Faith & Insight: Authentic fathering

June 15, 2018 — How many of us are familiar with the phrase "Wait until your father gets home." Fathering is much more than being the disciplinarian hand in a child's upbringing. Even those that aren't familiar with the Bible know the proverb "spare the rod spoil the child,"

Learn more »

The Popcorn Stand: What’s in a name, quite a bit actually

June 15, 2018 — We Americans seem to have mixed feelings about our names. Or maybe it's our identities. We do seem to take great pride in our names. But our identities we always seem to want to change. I take great pride in my name although I jokingly

Learn more »

Is This You? When it rains …

June 15, 2018 — I'm going to bet when you read the title, "When It Rains," you'll think the next line is, "It Pours." Thus concluding today I'm going to discuss the ins and outs of Murphy's Law. But that isn't the case. No, I want to really talk

Learn more »

It only takes one spark in those hills

June 14, 2018 — A healthy cheat grass crop is not good for people or other living things. An election night fire burned off 500 acres of wildland above southwestern Carson City prompting voluntary evacuations along Curry. By Wednesday morning, the fire was down to a smoldering cigarette burn

Learn more »

Dennis Cassinelli: Nevada’s Central Pacific Railroad

June 13, 2018 — This year is the 150th anniversary of the Central Pacific Railroad reaching Reno. From Reno, the track was laid across the entire state and connected the towns of Verdi, Reno, Sparks, Winnemucca, Battle Mountain, Carlin, Elko, Wells and Wendover. Being a construction person, I cannot

Learn more »