Recent Stories | NevadaAppeal.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Lahontan Valley News letters to the editor: Politics and federal firefighting

September 25, 2018 — My hat is off to Mr. Riggins for writing the opinion piece on politics and federal firefighting … and to the Lahontan Valley News for printing it. It brings to mind what a friend who lived at various times in the Elko and Winnemucca areas.

Learn more »

The Popcorn Stand: Nordstrom would make Mugatu in Zoolander proud

September 24, 2018 — In a silly life imitates art moment, Nordstrom has come out with a line of shoes that would make "Mugatu" in "Zoolander" proud. I have to admit I don't take care of my shoes. And I wear my shoes until they're well past worn out.

Learn more »

Trina Machacek: New microwave, same burned popcorn

September 24, 2018 — If you have been on Mother Earth for more than, let's say, 50 years, you may remember when microwave ovens were a new thing. I still have no idea how a microwave oven works. Of course I still don't know how my father could make

Learn more »

Guy W. Farmer: Trashing Judge Kavanaugh

September 23, 2018 — If Judge Brett Kavanaugh's accuser, California research psychologist Dr. Christine Blasey Ford, declines to testify before the Senate Judiciary Committee next week, the committee should immediately send his Supreme Court nomination to the full Senate with a favorable recommendation. She has every right to tell

Learn more »

Talk of the Town: The doctor who ‘nose’ best

September 23, 2018 — Well, he comes from a family of ministers It's part of his history It's my friend Dr. Philip Schlager with Carson Medical He can be your new ENT. This week I choose my doctor I've not done that before But I have become a regular

Learn more »

Faith & Insight: Great expectations

September 23, 2018 — At a previous church where I was an associate pastor, I was once sent out in between services to get some items we had ran out of and needed for the next service. I was in a hurry and as I tried to drive quickly

Learn more »

Brian Underwood: The popular choice is no choice

September 22, 2018 — Money, it's gotta be shoes! It was 30 years ago that Mars Blackmon, Michael Jordan's famed fanboy played by Spike Lee in the legendary Nike Air Jordan commercials, opined that it was the shoes that made the man. Some years before, unknown to all but

Learn more »

John R. Bullis: Keeping a record of business hours can be important

September 22, 2018 — Robin Robison and Shane Robison have a 500-acre ranch in southern Utah. He was a successful computer science executive who earned more than $10 million in 2010 and in 2011 he retired from Hewlett Packard. In 2012 he earned more than $4 million. The ranch

Learn more »

Teri Vance: Going to the movies to see my grandma

September 22, 2018 — My mother's mom died before I was old enough to remember her. But I'm hoping to see her Tuesday — or at least catch a brief glimpse of her. The Carson City Classic Cinema Club will be showing "Westward the Women," as its featured film

Learn more »

Chamber News & Notes: Group travel is great for seniors

September 22, 2018 — Seniors who have not had the time to travel during their busy work/family lives are now traveling in droves. Not quite as adventuresome as they once were, many are opting – like myself – to take an organized tour where just about everything is planned

Learn more »

Cheers & Kudos: Foster parent appreciation draws ample support

September 22, 2018 — The Division of Child and Family Services would like to recognize the various individuals, organizations and businesses that contributed to our 2018 Foster Parent Appreciation Event held at the Governor's Mansion. Due to the generous support and time given by those listed below, our local

Learn more »

Silver Dollars and Wooden Nickels: They are truly pioneers

September 22, 2018 — Silver Dollars and Wooden Nickels is a weekly feature in the Appeal's Opinion pages in which the Appeal gives Silver Dollars to those who deserve recognition and occasionally a Wooden Nickel to those who deserve criticism. SILVER DOLLAR: To Carson City's Aquasyn, LLC which has

Learn more »

Chamber News & Notes: Getting old was never on the playlist

September 22, 2018 — I grew up in the generation that was never, ever, ever, going to grow old. We were the generation declaring age 30 to be "over the hill" and those "old folks" were never to be trusted. As with all youth, there's no looking ahead. You

Learn more »

Letters to the editor for Saturday, Sept. 22, 2018

September 22, 2018 — Term and other limits As I understand it, the U.S. Supreme Court can "arbitrarily" change the number of the sitting justices at any time and the result does not have to be an odd number? Since politicians can "arbitrarily" switch parties after being elected, decide

Learn more »

The Popcorn Stand: Pepperoni pizza is all I need

September 19, 2018 — While I love pizza, I generally like to keep it simple. Sure a combination pizza is pretty cool, but even then I like just the standard combo pizza of pepperoni, sausage, bell pepper, olives, onions and mushrooms. And yes, you can pretty much put anything

Learn more »

Dennis Cassinelli: Old Virginia: Gourmet camp cook

September 19, 2018 — The name of Virginia City is said to have been given by James Finney, one of the original prospectors who made the discovery of the famous Comstock Lode. Being from the state of Virginia, Finney became known by the other prospectors and placer miners as

Learn more »

Susan Stornetta: Dealing with pro-life issues

September 19, 2018 — I'm winding down from my day, stretched out on the sofa, glass of wine in hand, music in the air, making plans for dinner, when the telephone rings. At my hello, she introduces herself: "Hi, I'm Gwen Madden with the pro-life movement." Of course I'm

Learn more »

Is It 1984?

September 17, 2018 — Before I start today's column, How about a free movie? You can watch the Dinesh D'Souza's documentary "Death of a Nation" on Oct. 2 at 7 p.m. at the Fallon Theater. It is absolutely free and worth the time to see. In his successor to

Learn more »

David Henley: Tales of camels in Nevada

September 17, 2018 — WADI RUM, Jordan — The heat here is stupefying. It had reached 112 degrees when I visited Wadi Rum, a spectacular mountain range of rose-colored sandstone and a UNESCO World Heritage site north of the Gulf of Aqaba and the Red Sea in southern Jordan.

Learn more »

Superman, Kryptonite and facts says Jeannette Strong (opinion)

September 17, 2018 — "Facts are to Trump supporters as Kryptonite is to Superman." Everyone knows the story of Superman. He came from Krypton, he has superpowers, and green Kryptonite can hurt and even kill him. "Kryptonite" has become a symbolic term for something that seriously harms or weakens

Learn more »