Recent Stories | NevadaAppeal.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Visiting the Golan Heights flashpoint in Israel

November 13, 2018 — MAJDAL SHAMS, Golan Heights, Israel – It's almost noon in this village in northeast Israel, and to reach here from Nazareth, I drove along a winding road that took me high into the mountains past wineries, apple orchards, cattle ranches, thick forests, waterfalls, streams and

Learn more »

Election thoughts

November 13, 2018 — The election is over and I suspect we are all thankful that the non-stop campaign ads and six to seven calls per night for polling opinions are over. That said, it was definitely interesting. Democrats predicted a "blue wave" across the nation. Their prediction turned

Learn more »

Big, bad boogeyman of socialism

November 13, 2018 — "The legitimate object of government, is to do for a community of people, whatever they need to have done, but can not do, at all, or can not, so well do, for themselves in their separate, and individual capacities," Abraham Lincoln, 1854. Socialism: government ownership

Learn more »

Jim Valentine: Tips for buying vacant land

November 13, 2018 — With the increase in home prices, it makes financial sense once again to buy a lot and build a home if you are so inclined. There are benefits to building a new home versus buying a resale or spec home. You can design it specifically

Learn more »

Guy W. Farmer: Democrats playing identity politics

November 12, 2018 — I received my Ancestry.com DNA results last week and I'm sad to report that the results didn't totally confirm that I'm a native American, just like Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.). Nevertheless, my DNA results do confirm that there were some "New York settlers" and "Northeastern

Learn more »

The Popcorn Stand: Make Les Nesman proud, donate to Salvation Army

November 12, 2018 — In the spirit of always being early during the HallowThanksMas season, I couldn't resist doing my annual ode to "WKRP in Cincinnati" Popcorn Stand for Thanksgiving. I usually wait until Thanksgiving to do my tribute to the 1970s show's Thanksgiving episode but after seeing the

Learn more »

John Bullis: Divorces by older folks

November 12, 2018 — Divorce rates for folks over age 50 are increasing. That leaves less time to adjust and recover both financially and emotionally. Older folks might have decided they don't want to live the next 20 or more years with someone they don't love. Sometimes they have

Learn more »

Healthcare Insurance was No. 1 issue in 2018 Mid-Term Elections

November 11, 2018 — Normally, the party in power can tout success in the economy as a reason for voters to choose their candidates in any election. The statement "It's the economy, stupid!'' has often been used to explain a victory. However, the Democratic Party can make another statement

Learn more »

Fred LaSor: Carson Rifle, Pistol Club celebrates 100th

November 11, 2018 — When World War I — the "war to end all wars" — ended in 1918, many soldiers came home to take up where they had left off. Some of those who returned to Virginia City and Carson City wanted to recreate the formal rifle and

Learn more »

Teri Vance: Saying goodbye to my friend

November 11, 2018 — There's this space. It's a narrow space between my side of the bed and my dresser. It's wide enough to walk through, but just barely. That's the space my Rottweiler mix Roxy chose to sleep — despite having two dog beds of her own. She

Learn more »

Faith & Insight: Be still, and he will

November 11, 2018 — "Be still!" I can still hear it today like it was yesterday, but I remember it now for a different reason. It seemed like my second grade teacher, Mrs. Holsher, had this phrase on some sort of high frequency loop, and it was usually directed

Learn more »

Marilyn Foster: Blue grass, horses, whiskey, country music and Dolly Parton

November 10, 2018 — Sometimes we forget all the wonderful travel opportunities we have in our own country, like the spectacular scenery and attractions found in the South and East that are so different from our high desert. If you like horses, Dolly Parton, Wild Turkey whiskey, the Grand

Learn more »

Letters to the editor for Nov. 10, 2018

November 10, 2018 — A solution to decreasing national debt President Trump was correct in his criticism of the Federal Reserve raising interest rates too rapidly without any current inflation fears (very minimal increases during Obama years) having a negative effect on the growing economy. Every increase of 1

Learn more »

Trina Machacek: Horse apples

November 10, 2018 — I feel very lucky to live where I do. I walk each day — two or three miles depending on the amount of caffeine on board that tells my legs how far I can go and get back home before I need to have a

Learn more »

SILVER DOLLARS AND WOODEN NICKLES: Saluting 100th of 11/11

November 10, 2018 — Silver Dollars and Wooden Nickels is a weekly feature in the Appeal's Opinion pages in which the Appeal gives Silver Dollars to those who deserve recognition and occasionally a Wooden Nickel to those who deserve criticism. SILVER DOLLAR: It's the 100th anniversary of Armistice Day,

Learn more »

Get Healthy Carson City: November is Long-Term Care Awareness Month

November 8, 2018 — By the time you reach 65 years old, there's a 50-50 chance you'll need long-term care. Approximately 70 percent of people over the age of 65 will require some type of long-term care services during their lifetime. You can never know for sure if you'll

Learn more »

JoAnne Skelly: Trees ‘network’ and share resources

November 8, 2018 — My friend Paul sent me a link to a fascinating TED talk by Suzanne Simard, professor of forest ecology at the University of British Columbia. She has established trees in a forest collaborate and has been researching this for 30 years. In fact, there are

Learn more »

Dan O’Connor: It’s time to ring the bell

November 7, 2018 — Hey, hello there. Thanks for dropping by. How are things? I hope you're well and happy. I look forward to these little weekly chats of ours. It's always nice to have a pleasant, friendly discussion with a friend. I know this is supposed to be

Learn more »

Knecht, Smack: God bless Christena Jensen

November 7, 2018 — Surrounded by her loving family, Christena Kathryn Jensen departed peacefully for Heaven Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2018, at the age of 97. Daughter Kathy Knecht, granddaughter Karyn Knecht and son-in-law Ron Knecht all loved her dearly and will miss her forever. She was born May 2,

Learn more »

The Popcorn Stand: Let’s always remember 11/11

November 7, 2018 — As Pat Tillman once said before he paid the ultimate price for this country, "I haven't done a damn thing for this country." I mean I pay my taxes. But I've never had to make any real sacrifice for this country in any way, shape

Learn more »