Boone clinches New Year’s run |

Boone clinches New Year’s run

Adam Robertson
Cole Hamlin (160) and Hailey Guerrero (179) check their final times after running in the New Year's fun run. Guerrero completed the course in 34:42.9 and Hamlin in 35:06.2.

Tanner Boone came through as the overall winner of the Churchill County Parks and Recreation department’s 2017 New Year’s fun run with a time of about 16-and-a-half minutes.

“He was just flying,” said Danny Gleich with the Churchill County Parks and Recreation Department. “I heard he even stopped to tie his shoe at one point. He was impressive.”

The second best overall time went to Bryce Sauer in the men’s 36-45 age group at 17:58. The best time in the female age groups was Marianne Woller in the 46-55 age group with 24:17.

According to Parks and Recreation, 153 people registered for this year’s race and about 130 participated. This is down from last year when about 145 people joined the race.

Gleich said it was a nice day but cold; he said the temperature might have led to people staying in.

Overall, though, Gleich said everyone who came out had a fun time, and it was a good way to end 2016 and start the New Year.

The race began at Veterans Park Courtyard and went out to near Numa Elementary School before coming back to the starting point. After the race, a breakfast was served at the Elks Lodge and raffle winners were announced.

To see the full results, go to

The winners for each age group:

Female 0-13 – Sadie O’Flaherty 28:55.9

Female 14-20 – Lisa Canterbury 43:12.7

Female 21-35 – Lisa Simper 24:44.2

Female 36-45 – Lisa Nordman 25:43.3

Female 46-55 – Marianne Woller 24:17.2

Female 56-65 – Jamie Dellera 29:30.4

Female 66+ – Barbara Baker 43:02.6

Male 0-13 – Justin King 29:16.9

Male 14-20 – Jadan Rotton 19:46.7

Male 21-35 – Tanner Boone 16:39.4

Male 36-45 – Bryce Sauer 17:58.7

Male 46-55 – John Lockwood 23:00.1

Male 56-65 – Gary Utterback 23:07.4

Male 66+ – Dan Perkins 43:17