Cardinals claim title in flag football leads Community Spotlight |

Cardinals claim title in flag football leads Community Spotlight

Nevada Appeal staff report
The Carson Middle School eighth-grade cross country team took second place at the TahNeva Championships.Parker Lehmann ran a 17:25 for the 2.63-mile course and was the fifth overall finisher. Juan Ayala, Will Breding, Dominic Martinez and Isaac Harrison also ran for CMS.
Courtesy |

The Cardinals won three games last week to claim the regular season title in the Talents NFL Flag Football League.

The Cardinals knocked off the Rams, 41-13, to improve to 15-0. They also beat the Steelers 60-32 and Cowboys 73-49. The Steelers finished 8-7 after going 1-2 last week, the Rams went 7-8 after going 2-1 last week and the Cowboys went 0-15 after going 0-3.

Trevor Marlin scored four times and passed for 10 TDs, Kory Grist scored 10 times and Alex Myrehn and Victor Contreras tallied six times each for the Cardinals.

For the Steelers, Jacob Hanson threw for nine scores and also scored four times, while Christian Smith scored six times and threw for three scores. Romeo Menard had two TD passes and six scores.

Joey Altermerano threw for nine TDs and scored three times, and Erick Vasquez scored eight times for the Rams.

Sean Finn threw for eight scores and scored three times and Anthony Loyola scored four times to lead the Cowboys.

Walker wins at

Empire Ranch

Wade Walker shot a net 60 to win Flight A at the recent stroke play tournament for the Empire Ranch Senior Men’s Club.

Tom Sawyer was second with a 62 and Dahl Rask was third with a 64.

Geoff Swann won Flight B in a tiebreaker over George Flamer. Both shot net 65s. Dick Montoya was third with a 67. Skip Yokota was first in Flight C with a 65, one shot clear of Martin Johnson and two clear of Nils Sharpe. Myron Carpenter won Flight D with a 66, one shot better than Bob Pluth and five ahead of Ralph Bothe.

Sparman, Guidicatti

team for win

Jack Sparman and John Guidicatti teamed up for a 55 in the recent Carson Valley Men’s Club tournament.

The format was two-man best ball with a blind partner draw.

Roger Hala and John Pearson shot a 57, Larry Lockwood and Bill Allen were third at 59, and Matt Budjako and Brent Holderman were fourth with a 60.