Carson team is third in sprint car event |

Carson team is third in sprint car event

The Carson City-based 360 sprint car owned by Dan Grode and driven by Tom Haxall of North Tahoe finished third in Saturday’s main event at American Valley Speedway in Quincy, Calif.

Haxall posted fifth-fastest time in qualifying and won his heat race on the half-mile dirt track at the Plumas-Sierra County Fairgrounds.

“Tom drove his heart out,” Grode said of Haxall’s effort.

“The motor started missing a little bit in the main event. It may have had something to do with the injectors.”

Haxall and Grode have been racing together nearly three years.

The Carson Country United States Bowling Congress Youth leagues will hold signups for fall/winter leagues on Saturday, Aug. 12 from 10 a.m. to Noon at Carson Lanes.

Bowling league signups scheduled

Youth league signups will be held at the Pinon Plaza Bowling Center and Silver Strike Lanes on Saturday, Aug. 19 from 10 a.m. to noon. Bowlers must be between the ages of 7 and 21 as of August 1, 2006.

The cost of the yearly membership card is $12.25. There is no charge for shoe rental during league play and the cost for league varies depending on the league and bowling center.

Leagues will begin at Carson Lanes, Pinon Plaza Bowling Center and Silver Strike Lanes on Sept. 9, 2006. Leagues at Carson Lanes are held on Saturdays at 9:30 a.m. Leagues at the Pinon Plaza are at 8:45 and 11:15 a.m. on Saturdays and the leagues at Silver Strike Lanes are on Saturdays at 10 a.m.

The leagues are divided into two sessions and the first session runs for 12 weeks, ending on Dec. 9. The second session will run from Jan. 6 through March 24. The leagues are handicap with the exception of the Junior Gold League held on Sundays at the Pinon Plaza (time to be determined). Junior/adult leagues will be held on Sundays at 3:30 p.m. at Carson Lanes and 5:30 p.m. at the Pinon Plaza.

The Pee Wee Bowling Clubs (bumper bowlers) bowl on Saturdays at the respective times at all three bowling centers. Bowlers must be age 3 by the first day of bowling and no older than 6. The cost for Pee Wee bowling club membership is $5 a year, with additional league fees weekly.

If bowlers are unable to sign up at the bowling centers during the signups listed above, they may show up at the respective bowling center on the first day of bowling. For more information, call Carson Country USBC Youth Representative Debbie Hochsprung, 883-5297.

Carson Country Bowling is formed

The decision to merge was recently made by the Carson Country Bowling Association, the Capitol City Women’s Bowling Association and the Tri-County Young American Bowling Alliance.

An organizational meeting of the newly merged association was held May 20. At this meeting, new officers were elected and the new bylaws were approved.

Elected to serve are the following: President Chris Beard, 1st Vice President Clark Balik, 2nd Vice President Waynette Lewis, Sgt. at Arms Bob Spiker, and Directors Don Farmer, Bud Howard, Cliff Gordon, Marie Minnich, Dan Rodgers, Jane Rodgers, Jim Gansberg and Annette Yanuck, and the Youth Committee Representatives Deanne Wass, Debbie Hochsprung and Arlana Zimmerman.

Jolly Ramsey was selected to be the Association manager. The name of this new Association will be the Carson Country USBC.

The new organization will be under the auspices of the United States Bowling Congress (USBC). USBC officially launched Jan. 1, 2005, as an organization serving nearly three million adult and youth bowlers in the United States. It resulted from the merger of the American Bowling Congress, Women’s International Bowling Congress, Young American Bowling Alliance and USA Bowling.

Results from Empire Senior Men’s Golf

Results from the Empire Ranch Senior Men’s Golf Clubs four-man scramble event held last Wednesday at Dayton Valley Country Club:

Flight A: First – Jack Eldridge, Roger Cartwright, James Reading, Wayne Keppinger 50; second – (won tiebreaker) Joseph Hurm, Fred Blackburn, Dick Costa, Terry Thomas 53; third – Ken Emanuel, Mike Rogers, Edward Rector, Will Smith 53; fourth – (won tiebreaker) Richard Sorken, Wayne Smith Sr., Ray Umano, blind draw 55.

Flight B: First – Vern Rosse, Paul Ford, Larry Hamann, Carl Slate 50; second – Cleve Dalen, Gary Dalen, Robert Butler, Chris Pike 51; third – Paul Weller, Robert Blom, Frank Romano, Chuck Bell 52; fourth – (Won tiebreaker) Ken Cuneo, Walt Blizzard, Hans Ehrlin, Henry Ortiz 53.

Closest to the pin: No. 4 – Jim Price 3-7; No. 6 – Tom Hammond 3-3; No. 13 – Chris Pike 7-0; No. 16 – John Attenborough 6-10.