NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Results | NevadaAppeal.com

NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Results

Top Gun Raceway

In the final results from Top Gun Raceway and the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, Doug Lambeck and Dennis Paz lead the list of winners that took home trophies and bragging rights.

Lambeck, of Northridge, Calif., got the early lead in his Comp Eliminator final round match up with Aaron Strong, of Auburn, Wash., and held on for the win in 8.815 seconds at 153.28 mph. Stockton, Calif. racer Paz, was out second to Ken Etter in Super Stock but made up the time in his ’65 El Camino to take the win in 12.029 seconds to Etter’s 10.577.

Moe Trujillo, of Happy Valley, Ore., was better at both ends of the track as he faced off with Mike MacBrair, of Napa, Calif., in Top Dragster while Gary Forkner, of Temecula, Calif., parlayed a holeshot into a win over Will Boxold, of Citrus Heights, Calif., in Top Sportsman.

Local runner and reigning NHRA Lucas Oil National Champion Justin Lamb met up with Earl Blake in Stock Eliminator. Both drivers left the line together but Blake got the best of Lamb, taking the win in his ’68 Barracuda in the double breakout as did Dave Hall over Gordon Boven in Super Street. Hall, of Winters, Calif., got the holeshot with his ’72 Challenger and never looked back running 11.297 to Boven’s 11.287 out of Boise, Idaho.

Rounding out the Lucas Oil categories were Steve Casner, of Sheridan, Calif., over Dave Alves in Super Comp and Steve Parsons, of Ridgecrest, Calif., in Super Gas when Mike Coltrin left early with a red light start. Tom Medlin, of La Mirada, Calif., took the honors in the Sportsman Motorcycle presented by Harley-Davidson class that was close at the start with Medlin pulling away for the win.

In other action this weekend at Top Gun, Justin Morgan, of Concord, Calif., downed Kyle Seipel in Super Pro; Summer Black, of Reno, Nev., upended Jim Grace in Pro; and Steve Melson, of Reno, Nev., beat Jim Setterberg in Sportsman.

In the NHRA Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League competition it was Brandon Marcheski doubling up with wins in both the Jr. Comp and the 15-17 year old category. The Mesa, Ariz., racers beat Megan Shaffer in Jr. Comp and then Cody Webber in 15-17. Kaitlyn Savolt won over Summer McCallson in 13-14; Linkin Pinoski defeated Maverick Molly in 10-12; and Peter Kaiser III took the 8-9 over Cy Mitchell.

Pacific Division racers head west to Sonoma Raceway for their next NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event, July 18-20.