Prep Roundup: Sierra Lutheran’s Hansen wins Twilight Classic title |

Prep Roundup: Sierra Lutheran’s Hansen wins Twilight Classic title

Nevada Appeal staff report

Sierra Lutheran’s Teagan Hansen came home with the Nevada Twilight Classic title Friday at Mira Loma Park, posting a 14:04 over the 3,900-meter race to win the varsity small school division.

Andreas Gilson and William Webster took 20th and 38th, respectively, at the event for the Falcons.

Dayton also had three finishers on the boys’ side in the small school division with junior Tyler Logan taking seventh in 14:45 for the Dust Devils.

Brenden Larkin took 29th in the race in 16:04 while freshman Connor Larkin was 52nd in 18:02. Fellow Dust Devil runner Samuel Matthews finished the Twilight Classic 36th in 16:39.

For the Carson boys’ runners, Zachary Sever once again led the way, taking third place in the large school division in 13:22.

Cody Jackson edged his way into the top 30 as he finished in 14:18 to take 28th.

Walker MacKenzie and Andrew Ingram took 41st and 43rd, respectively, while Asher Koch and Jakob Heller were neck and neck, finishing 50th and 51st.

Gabe Crossman (63rd), Ethan Bauerle (64th) and Jacob Crossman (68th) round out the Senator finishers.

Carson girls take fifth; Dayton, Sierra Lutheran run

The Carson girls cross country team took fifth as a unit Friday at Mira Loma Park in the Nevada Twilight Classic.

Hannah Kaiser led the way for the Senators with a 17th-place finish in 17:35 while Claire Cartier was the second Senator to cross the line in 18:31 for 33rd.

Julia Kaiser (38th), Sydney Romeo (43rd) and Ava Brehm (52nd) were the next three Carson runners to complete the race.

Dayton was led by Ashlynn Barwig, who took 16th in 22:05, while Abigail Harker was 18th for the Dust Devils in 22:14.

Sierra Lutheran’s three runners ended the race as a pack as Sierra Carranza, Ava Zimmerman and Christi Kennedy took 19th through 21st.

Girls golf opens season

The Carson High girl’s golf team finished fifth out of six teams at the season-opening tournament at Galena.

Karen Beglin finished second for the Senators with a 78. Audrey Brust of Bishop Manogue was the medalists with a 76. Manogue won the meet with a 347. Carson was at 415 with Douglas at 437.

Sarah Wiggins (92), Sophia Taggart (102) and Karrina Ferris (143) round out the Senators.