CHS, Virginia City teams honor Andreasen |

CHS, Virginia City teams honor Andreasen

Darrell Moody
Tom Andreasen

RENO — Former players from Virginia City and Carson High state championship teams paid tribute to legendary coach Tom Andreasen at halftime of Thursday’s state semifinal game at Lawlor Events Center.

Andreasen, who coached Virginia City to a state title in 1972 and guided the Senators to the state title in 1975, passed away on Dec. 5.

Andreasen was named Coach of the Year after beating three Southern Nevada teams to win the eight-team Division 3 tournament. Prior to that win, no Northern Nevada school had won a state title since 1963 (Reno).

Don Crossley, Paul Gray, Mike Longero and Jim Salazar represented CHS, while Tom Adams, Marshall McBride, assistant coach Ed Murkovich, Jerry and Mike Nevin, Keith Savage, John Seymour, Terry Witt, Bob Gallagher and Bob Rudnick represented Virginia City.

Rudnick, a retired law enforcement officer in Gardnerville, played for Andreasen since the seventh grade.

“I had a unique situation,” he said prior to the Carson-Coronado game. “I played for Tom starting in seventh grade, and I started for him every year.

“He was such a gentleman. He was ahead of his time; very knowledgable. He expected a lot. He instilled confidence in you. He prepared scouting reports and he was always on (the mark) with it.”

Longero said the Senators, under Andreasen, were probably a little more offensive minded than recent CHS teams, but still worked hard.

“He was an offensive-minded coach,” Longero said. “I remember when he first came in guys were apprehensive going to the basket. Tom wanted us to play offense without a conscience. Very few teams back then slowed (held) the ball.

“We weren’t fancy at all. We were definitely a blue-collar team. We had a very good work ethic. As a group, we met every week to discuss goals and what we wanted to do (that particular game).”

Every year Carson would get closer to a state title. Longero said the team lost badly to Rancho and then lost the next year to Valley.

Longero said Andreasen kept saying the Senators would break through, and they finally did in 1975.

Looking ahead

The Senators return three starters — Tez Allen, Jayden DeJoseph and Jace Keema — next season and nine players in all.

Coach Carlos Mendeguia told his team he thought it could accomplish a lot next season, but the work had to be put in. The biggest need will be to replace Sierra League Player of the Year Asa Carter, and the Senators will need to find a point guard as Jared Rooker and Cody Azevedo will graduate.

No surprises on Thursday

As expected, the favorites won opening round games in the Division I tournament.

The nationally ranked Centennial girls overpowered Reno, 82-53, in the opener. It was the second win of the year for the Bulldogs against Reno. Samantha Thomas led all scorers with 29, including four 3-point field goals. Ten other players scored for the Bulldogs, but nobody else reached double figures. Mallory McGwire led Reno with 14 and Dominique Harding added 12.

In the second game of the day, Bishop Gorman breezed to a 70-39 victory over Reno. The game went to a running clock with 5:53 left. Gorman built a 15-point halftime lead, and then put it out of reach with a 22-0 run in the first 5 1/2 minutes of the second half. Chuck O’Bannon led the Gaels with 23 and Byron Frohnen scored 20. Zach Collins tallied 11. Michael Heydon and Karn Goraya scored eight each for the Huskies.

Liberty ended Bishop Manogue’s season 59-53 behind 21 points by Taylor Tirney and nine by Nancy Caballero and London Paulica. Manogue led by one at the half, but was outscored 20-15 in the third quarter and lost its lead. Katie Turner led the Miners with 17, while Malia Holt and Madeline Camacho added 15 and 11, respectively.

Today at Lawlor

The Division I games, both all-Southern Nevada finals, will tip off at 6:20 and 8:20, respectively.

Action gets under way at Lawlor today at 11 a.m. with four Division III games.