Q-Tip: Get new fishing license
Anglers interested in fishing in the State of California are reminded that Friday is the last day for its 1999 fishing license year.
Beginning Saturday morning, anyone fishing in the “Golden State” will be required to have the new 2000 fishing license.
The 2000, non-resident, annual California fishing license is $75.85 per person at all license outlets.
A two-day fishing license will cost you $10.25. There is no one-day fishing license in that state.
A second rod stamp is $9.20 and enables the angler to fish with two fishing poles on ponds, lakes and reservoirs. The second rod stamp is not legal on streams and rivers.
California licenses and stamps are available in the Carson City-Douglas County area at these license outlet stores:
– Carson City: Coast-to-Coast Hardware, Kmart, Long’s, Wal-Mart and the Sierra Fly Shoppe.
– Douglas County: The Angler’s Edge and Scolari’s, both in Gardnerville and the Topaz Lodge at Topaz Lake.
Fishermen are advised that anyone fishing in California must wear their fishing license where it is readily visible above the waist. If you don’t, you are subject to being cited and fined.
– Special Note: The Nevada fishing license period is on a different type of year. The current 1999-2000 Nevada fishing license is good through Feb. 29.
For information, call the Sierra Fly Shoppe at 841-FISH or the California Dept. of Fish and Game, License and Revenue Branch in Sacramento at (916) 227-2245 (Help Desk) during normal business hours.