Senator runners have a strong showing at Tahoe |

Senator runners have a strong showing at Tahoe

Appeal Staff Report

The Carson High boys and girls cross country teams had an encouraging effort in a Sierra League meet on Wednesday against Reno High and South Tahoe at South Tahoe.

The three schools are all favorites to finish high in the Northern 4A Championships a week from today at Rancho San Rafael Park. Based on Wednesday’s results, Carson should fare well at zone.

South Tahoe, Reno and Carson are favored to be the top three teams at the zone meet. On Wednesday, South Tahoe beat Carson 24-32 and Reno beat the Senators 28-29.

But Carson was without its top runner in Yvonne Hollett, who continued to rest her sore knee. Hollett will run at the zone meet.

For the boys, Carson beat South Tahoe 25-32 while losing to Reno 25-30. Again, that was encouraging runner since the Senators had four runners coming off injuries who ran in the race. In the boys race, Carson’s Richard Shroy won, finishing the course which was about 2.5 miles in 12 minutes, 13 seconds.

“She would have made a big difference in both scores,” said Carson coach Pete Sinnott about Hollett missing the girls race.

All six of Carson’s runners finished within 25 seconds of each other. “The girls actually ran really well,” Sinnott said.

“They’re actually right where they should be right now. The girls are really running together as a team. They’re all running faster every week.”

Christy Works was fifth in 15:10, Jenny Mital was eighth in 15:19, Gloria Sosa was 10th in 15:23, Amanda Gordon was 11th in 15:24, Kat Vonrumpf was 12th in 15:32 and Haleigh Ward was 13th in 15:35. South Tahoe’s Kelsey Smith, who won the Stanford Invitational, won the race.

Also for Carson’s boys, Zack Mapes was sixth in 13:16, Wade Smith was seventh in 13:16, Caleb Carter was 10th in 13:30, Ethan Graber was 12th in 13:45, Brent Moyle was 14th in 13:58, Nick Schlager was 15th in 14:02, Logan Philippi was 16th in 14:05, Evan Richards was 17th in 14:09, David McMasters was 18th in 14:14, Tyler Davies was 20th in 14:18, Andrew Richards finished in 14:42, Brandon Bournacorsi finished in 14:50, Joe Ward finished in 15:22, Jonathan Lanuza finished in 15:30, Josiah Toral finished in 16:02, Noel Lopez finished in 16:24 and Brandon O’Keefe finished in 16:33.