Senators earn All-region awards |

Senators earn All-region awards

Nevada Appeal Sports Staff

Izzy Lopez, Richard Shroy, Brenda Luquin and Nicole Updegrove walked away with top honors in their respective sports, as All-Sierra League teams were released Sunday by commissioner Ron McNutt.

The All-Sierra football team will be released Dec. 6, the day after the state championship game in Las Vegas.

Shroy, a senior, won cross country’s top award after winning the individual 4A state title at Rancho San Rafael Park in Reno on Oct. 31. It was Shroy’s first state title. He finished third as a junior.

Carson won the boys and girls state titles which earned coach Pete Sinnott Sierra League Coach of the Year honors.

Luquin, who was named Midfielder of the Year in the Sierra League, finished with 15 points on six goals and nine assists. Updegrove, who scored four goals, was named the league’s top defensive player.

Lopez was named the boys’ midfielder of the year. The Carson senior scored six goals and dished out four assists for the Senators, who were eliminated in the first round of the regional playoffs by Hug.

In girls soccer, forward-midfielder Taylor Musselman, fullback Natalie Stevens and midfielder Liza Matley were voted to the first team, while midfielder Ashley Turner, fullback Ali Cowen and fullback Emily Field made the second team. Samantha Fishburn and Arran Rumbaugh were honorable mention selections.

In boys soccer, Brian Duran was a first-team recipient, while fullbacks Luis Aguilar (1 assist) and Nate Eng (1 goal, 3 assists) were named to the second team. Jason Martinez (6 goals) was honorable mention.

In cross country, Carson’s Nick Schlager and Brent Moyle were named to the first team, while Logan Phillippi was a second-team pick. Katie McFarren was a first-team selection, while Amber Karnofel was second team.

Jeanette Vansickle was a second-team pick in volleyball and Angela Augusta was honorable mention.