Sierra Nevada Northern teams chosen |

Sierra Nevada Northern teams chosen

Nevada Appeal News Service

Just days after its first Northern 4A Regional championship in baseball, and regional runner-up finish in softball, Spanish Springs High School reaped the benefits of its successful fourth year of existence in the 2005 Sierra Nevada Sports Media Poll All-Northern Nevada Honors released Wednesday.

The Cougars’ big left-hander Steve Masten was named the Northern Nevada Baseball Player of the Year, Mike Bosco was named the Northern Nevada Baseball Coach of the Year and Charlie Dyer was named the Northern Nevada Softball Coach of the Year.

Spanish Springs also placed a total of seven players on the first- and second-team All-Northern Region lists in baseball and softball.

Masten, shortstop Brad Carlsen and center fielder Thomas Farmer each earned first-team nods for baseball, while Travis Sulezich was a second-team honoree at first base. In softball, freshman pitcher Mallary Darby earned a first-team nod and second baseman Jen Martensen and third baseman Jaci Carlsen were second-team honorees.

McQueen’s Jessica Haight was named the Northern Nevada Softball Player of the Year. Haight has been a four-year starter for the Lancers, playing pitcher, first base and outfield this past season as McQueen claimed the Northern 4A Regional Championship.

The Lancers had three first-team honorees (pitcher Katie Eshelman, outfielder Sarah Hughes, and Haight) and one second-team honoree (shortstop Sarah Hunt) to go with their regional title.

Dyer guided the Cougars from a one-win season in High Desert League play last season to a regional championship berth this season.

In baseball, both Masten and Wooster’s Jake Rasner were the only unanimous first-team picks of the season.

Douglas placed pitcher Tyson Estes, catcher Roman Davis and second baseman Chad Walling on the first time in baseball while the Tigers’ Valerie Smith (who will start for Columbia University at catcher next season), Kayla Dunn and Kellei Kizer all earned first-team nods.

The first-team softball list was rounded out by Reno’s Kelly Kumataka (2B), North Valleys’ Ashley Donaldson (SS), Galena’s Danielle Moropoulos (3B), Reed’s Jessica Hooft (OF) and Galena’s Megan Molinari (OF).

The baseball first team was topped off by Galena’s Eric Maupin (1B), Andrew Ferguson (utility) and Tony Thompson (3B), Reno’s John Wallace (OF) and Manogue’s Glenn DeWeese (OF).

The Sierra Nevada Sports Media Poll is voted on weekly by editors and reporters from newspapers, Web sites and radio stations around the Northern region and the end-of-season teams are determined by assigning three points to a first-team vote and one point to a second-team vote.



(* – unanimous pick)


Player of the Year

Jessica Haight, McQueen

Coach of the Year

Charlie Dyer, Spanish Springs

First Team

P: Mallary Darby, Spanish Springs

P: Katie Eshelman, McQueen

P: Kellei Kizer, Douglas

C: Valerie Smith, Douglas

1B: Jessica Haight, McQueen

2B: Kelly Kumataka Reno

SS: Ashley Donaldson, North Valleys

3B: Danielle Moropoulos, Galena

OF: Sarah Hughes, McQueen

OF: Jessica Hooft, Reed

OF: Megan Molinari, Galena

Util: Kayla Dunn, Douglas

Second Team

P: Kelsey Hawley, Reed

P: Katie Crnkovich, Spring Creek

P: Nicole Greer, Dayton

C: Bethany Ellis, Fallon

1B: Anna Kingman, Whittell

2B: Jen Martensen, Spanish Springs

SS: Sarah Hunt, McQueen

3B: Jaci Carlsen, Spanish Springs

OF: Lauren Hoppe, Douglas

OF: Hailey Corthell, Reno

OF: Jaclyn Picollo, Wooster

Util: Trista Skinner, Carlin

Honorable Mention: Stephanie Shuman, Reno; Cassie Bowers, Carlin; Veronica Supp, Wells; Nicholle Ellis, North Valleys; Tara Beck, Manogue; Whitney Gielow, Whittell; Beth Reedy, Manogue; Kriston Gowan, Spring Creek; Rochelle Jepsen, Reed; Brittany Johnson, McQueen; Alex Arciniega, Spanish Springs; Liz Lewis, Fallon; Erika Stewart, Spring Creek; Charlotte Lee, South Tahoe; Justine Fulton; Kim Melling, Carlin; Britton Murdock, Reno; Kristen Walker, Wells; Maddie Garcia, Reno; Andrea Lazzari, Wooster; Michelle Beach, Fallon; Cassie Hunt, Reed; Ryan Mendibil, Spanish Springs; Abbay Fox, Spanish Springs; Kriston Crnkovich, Spring Creek; Katie Garcia, Spring Creek; Liz Rankl, Carson; Mandy Carvin, Carson.


Player of the Year

Steve Masten, Spanish Springs

Coach of the Year

Mike Bosco, Spanish Springs

First Team

P: Steve Masten, Spanish Springs *

P: Jake Rasner, Wooster *

P: Tyson Estes, Douglas

C: Roman Davis, Douglas

1B: Eric Maupin, Galena

2B: Chad Walling, Douglas

SS: Brad Carlsen, Spanish Springs

3B: Tony Thompson, Galena

OF: John Wallace, Reno

OF: Glenn DeWeese, Manogue

OF: Thomas Farmer, Spanish Springs

Util: Andrew Ferguson, Galena

Second Team

P: Jake Bottari, Wells

P: Matt Pagni, Manogue

P: Jared Braaten, Spring Creek

C: Brian Peat, Whittell

1B: Travis Sulezich, Spanish Springs

2B: Davis Banks, Reno

SS: Tyler Heil, Reno

3B: Jimmy Williams, Truckee

OF: Nick Nistler, McQueen

OF: Zack May, Reed

OF: Spike Agosta, Douglas

Util: Brooks Greenlee, Carson

Honorable Mention: Jeremy Joustra, Wooster; Dan Grubbs, McQueen; Jacob Anderson, Galena; Garrett Luippold, Reno; Colby Ingram, Fallon; Cullen Bryant, Fallon; Andrew Kamps, Fallon; Cody Williams, Wooster; Jesse Rasner, Wooster; Josh Ferguson, Carlin; D.J. Brady, Douglas; Jimmy Pierce, Douglas; Ryan Laing, Spanish Springs; Eric Mansfield, North Valleys; John Rice, Reno; Royal Good, Carson; Murph Gardner, Carson; Logan Parsley, Carson; Matt Starr, Carlin; Russ Wallace, Spanish Springs; Mike Linert, Reno; Jeff Young, Whittell; Shane Goodale, Lowry; Blaine Pickett, Spring Creek; Robert Reed, Reno; Matt Moerdick, Reed; Randy Henson, South Tahoe; Jeff Hansen, Truckee; Vince Romo, Spanish Springs; Basim Azzam, Galena; J.D. Judd, Spring Creek; Mickey Jannis, Spanish Springs; Braden Haub, Carlin.

Player of the Year Voting

(First-place votes in parentheses)


Haight, McQ(2) 24

Darby, SS (2) 17

Eshelman, McQ (1) 11

Crnkovich, SC (1) 8

Garcia, Reno 7

Rohrback, Truckee (1) 5

Kizer, Douglas 4

Hunt, McQ 4

Dunn, Douglas 3

Donaldson, NV 1

Hawley, Reed 1


Masten, S.S. (2) 24

Rasner, Woo 14

Walling, Douglas (2) 13

Ferguson, Gal (1) 4

Bottari, Wells (1) 5

Goodale, Lowry 4

Judd, S.C. 3

Banks, Reno 3

Carlsen, S.S. 3

Peat, Whi 1

Good, Car 1

Coach of the Year Voting


Dyer, S.S. (3) 19

Allinson, McQ (1) 16

Wetzel, S.C. 11

Puzey, Douglas (1) 8

Charles, Reed 7

Baker, Gal 6

Pace, Reno 5

Banning, Carlin 5

Tietje, D.R. 4

Barna, S.T. 3


Bosco, S.S. (2) 24

McNamara, Gal (2) 18

Glover, Douglas 15

Amaral, Whittell (1) 7

Cook, Carson 5

Rodriguez, Wells 5

Gilligan, S.C. 4

Tillson, S.T. 4

Espinola, Lowry 2

Foss, Reed 2

Malcolm, Woo 1