Tiny Mite Blue remains unbeaten | NevadaAppeal.com

Tiny Mite Blue remains unbeaten

Nevada Appeal Staff Report

The Carson Tiny Mite Blue Pop Warner football team remained unbeaten and in first place with a 24-6 win over the Sparks Cardinal over the weekend.

Wingback Alex Myrehn had two TDs for Carson, while Jessie Delgado and Zach Guthrie had one apiece. Huge holes were opened by fullback Tyler Lafollette and linemen Eli Locatelli, Drake Hardcastle and Dylan Cooley. The Blue defense shut down Sparks for most of the game, led by linemen Chris Borges and Julian Hazelton, end Skylar Southwell, and DBs Daniel Alvarado, Quentin Beck and Eric Pool.

The Blue can clinch the league championship in its next game vs. Fallon on Saturday.

Carson Unlimited

team blanked

The Carson Unlimited Pop Warner team droppedto 3-2 following a 30-0 loss to rival Douglas Friday in Gardnerville.

The score was not indicative of the effort put forth by the Senators. Carson’s defense held the Tigers scoreless in the first quarter behind great play from Donald Hurst, Conner Larkin, Sevon Mandoki, Jarod Butler, John Rowe and Adrian Michel. Carson moved the ball well behind the running of Dennis Krueger and Johnny Cavilia but made the most yards with pass completions from Justin Lopez and Cavilia to Harry Meyer.

Douglas returned the second-half kick-off 80 yards for a touchdown which took the wind out of Carson’s sails.

Carson sits in second place behind Douglas in the Unlimited standings and will take on the Sparks Wolfpack on the road Friday at 6 p.m.

Carson Middle School

7th graders go 2-1

The Carson Middle School 7th graders won two of their last three games to improve to 8-5 for the season.

Winnemucca pounded Carson 31-11, but CMS beat Fallon 20-14 and Alder Creek 29-20.

In the loss to Winnemucca, Dajarrah Navarro led CMS with seven points. In the win over Fallon, Abbey Paulson scored nne and Sydney Kleine added six. Against Alder Creek, Navarro scored 17 and Paulson seven for CMS.

CMS 8th graders

pound Alder Creek

Janae Steele scored 16 poinst to lead CMS to a 28-12 win over Alder Creek.

Haydyn Thom and LuLu Street added six apiece. CMS is 8-1 in league and 9-2 overall.

Maxwell foursome wins

Empire Ranch event

Roger Maxwell, Karl Keller, Ken Stone and Mike Rogers combined for a net 106 to win the Empire Ranch men’s Club Cha-Cha-Cha event.

John Masiello, Nick Paul, John Lewis and Jim Green were second at 107, while Fred Blackburn, Bruce Serpa, Bob Pitcock and Carl Slate were third at 111.

In Flight B, Marty Martinez, Bob Pluth, Vic Rocha and Chuck Edagr won with a 106. Charles Bell, Bob Blom, Paul Weller and Frank Romano were second with a 111. Norm Scoggin, Chris Nenzel, george Allison and bogey were third at 116.

Budjako wins event

at Carson Valley

Matt Budjako won Flight A with a net 69 at Carson Valley Men’s Club stroke play event on Oct. 7.

Roger Hala was second with a 70, while Mike Davis was third with a 74. John Guidicatti won Flight B with a 69, two shots better than Brent Holderman and four better than Chuck Householder.