Two Pack players earn top honors |

Two Pack players earn top honors

Appeal StaffReport

The University of Nevada swept two of the top three awards in the all-Western Athletic Conference selections that were announced on Wednesday.

Nevada’s Ryan Rodriguez was named as the Pitcher of the Year while Wolf Pack first baseman Shaun Kort ws named as the Freshman of the Year. Louisiana Tech outfielder Brian Rike was named as the Player of the Year while Louisiana Tech coach Wade Simoneaux was chosen as the Coach of the Year.

Rike, a junior, hit .370 with 28 RBI, seven doubles, nine home runs, five stolen bases and scored 28 runs in 24 conference games. In all games, Rike is hitting .354 and is first in the WAC in runs scored (74), RBI (65) and home runs (20).

Rodriguez, a senior from McQueen, earned the WAC’s Pitcher of the Year award after putting together a record of 8-6 in 16 appearances. He has an earned run average of 3.59 and is second in the WAC in strikeouts with 99. Rodriguez is the WAC’s active career leader in wins (31), innings pitched (389.2) and strikeouts (323).

Kort hit .424 in 24 conference games. He had 23 RBI, nine doubles, three home runs and scored 17 runs. In all games, he currently leads the WAC with a batting average of .398 and has 47 RBI, 15 doubles, four triples, five home runs and has scored 40 runs.

Fresno State led the conference with six players on the all-WAC first team. Both Louisiana Tech and Nevada had four while Sacramento State placed one on the first team. Repeat first team selections from 2006 included Fresno State’s Erik Wetzel, Loren Storey and Steve Susdorf and Louisiana Tech’s Brandon Hudson.

Hawai’i placed five players on the second team while Nevada, New Mexico State and San Jose State had three each. Fresno State had two players selected to the second team while Louisiana Tech and Sacramento State had one apiece.

Joining Kort on the first team for Nevada wer outfielder Terry Walsh, designated hitter Baker Krukow and relief pitcher Matt Renfree. Kort was also named to the second team for Nevada along with shortstop Chris Siewert and pitcher Rod Scurry. The All-WAC selections were:

First team

C Danny Grubb, Fresno State; 1B Albie Goulder, Louisiana Tech; 2B Wetzel; SS Dennis Winn, Louisiana Tech; 3B David Flores, Sacramento State; OF Storey; OF Susdorf; OF Rike; OF Walsh; utility Hudson; DH Krukow; SP Tanner Scheppers, Fresno State; SP Justin Wilson, Fresno State; SP Rodriguez; RP Renfree.

Second Team

C Joe Leghorn, New Mexico State; 1B-Kris Sanchez, Hawai’i; 1B Kort; 2B Jonathan Hee Hawai’i; 2B Marcus McKimmy, San Jose State; SS Siewert; SS Kyle Bellows, San Jose State; 3B Justin Frash, Hawai’i; OF Brandon Haislet, Hawai’i; OF Joseph Scaperotta, New Mexico State; OF Montana Dye, Sacramento State; OF Donato Giovanatto, San Jose State; utility Adam Harvey, New Mexico State; DH Vinnie Catricala, Hawai’i; SP Clayton Allison, Fresno State; SP Dylan Moseley, Louisiana Tech; SP Scurry; RP Brandon Burke, Fresno State.