Nevada Trial Lawyers Association Board of Governors installed the group's 24th president

At its annual convention/seminar, The Nevada Trial Lawyers Association Board of Governors installed the group's 24th president and named this year's recipient of the prestigious Badger Award.

Myra A. Sheehan, attorney at law, a sole practitioner in Reno, was elected president. Sheehan's area of practice consists exclusively of family law. A member of the association's Board of Governors since 1996, Sheehan has held the positions of secretary, co-vice president and president-elect.

As president, "I plan to work hard to preserve the reputation of the Nevada Trial Lawyers throughout this 2001 legislative session," Sheehan said.

In addition to electing a new president, the board elected Timothy C. Williams of Las Vegas as president-elect; Matthew L. Sharp of Reno as vice-president; Andrew J. Thomas of Las Vegas as secretary; and Beverly J. Salhanick of Las Vegas as treasurer.

Each year it is customary for the board to present the Badger Award to one member of the association for exemplary service on behalf of the association and the people of Nevada.

For 2000 that individual is George T. Bochanis. Bochanis was singled out most notably for his unique and extraordinary commitment to the organization.

Also included for special recognition was Gerald M. Welt, who was presented with a plaque in appreciation for his dedication and commitment to The People's Law School, the association's long-standing public education program.

The trial lawyers association is the largest and most active voluntary statewide bar organization promoting consumers' interests and victims' rights. NTLA also provides legal education and representation for the trial bar.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment