Anglers interested in fishing in California are reminded that Sunday is the last day for that state's 2000 fishing license year.
Beginning Monday morning, anyone fishing in the "Golden State" will be required to have the new 2001 fishing license. This year the license is blue in color.
The 2001, non-resident, annual California fishing license is $79 per person at all license outlets.
A two-day fishing license will cost you $10.75. There is no one-day fishing license in California.
A second rod stamp is $9.45. It enables a angler to fish with two fishing poles on ponds, lakes and reservoirs. The second rod stamp is not legal on streams and rivers.
California fishing licenses and stamps are available in the Carson City-Douglas County area at these license outlet stores:
-- Carson City: Coast-to-Coast Hardware, Kmart, Long's and Wal-Mart.
-- Douglas County: The Angler's Edge, Raley's and Scolari's, in Gardnerville. The Topaz Lodge at Topaz Lake.
Fishermen are advised that anyone fishing in California must wear their fishing license where it is readily visible above the waist. If you don't, you're subject to being cited and fined.
Special Note: Remember that the Nevada fishing license period is on a different type of year. The current 2000-2001 Nevada fishing license is good through Feb. 28.
For information, call Leslie at the License and Revenue Branch of the California Dept. of Fish and Game in Sacramento at (916) 227-2245 during normal business hours.