Pony Express rides again

The re-ride of the Pony Express begins tonight in Folsom, Calif.

The first of 500 riders is scheduled to leave Folsom at 6:22 p.m. on the ride scheduled to end in St. Joseph, Mo. on June 23.

Pony Express riders should leave Carson City at 3:35 p.m. on Wednesday.

A celebration of the Re-Ride of the Pony Express will be held in Woodfords, Calif., at 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday, and the first Nevada rider to take the mail from the last California rider will be Marlena Hellwinkel of MInden.

Darryl Peterson, president of the Nevada Pony Express Association, said the mochila will be handed off about noon or so that day in Genoa.

The riders will go through the Carson Valley via Foothill Road, which is near the original Pony Express trail, on their way to Carson City.

Riders will exchange the mail at various stops along the Pony Express National Historic Trail from California to St. Joseph, Mo., arriving there at about 3 p.m. June 23.

Riders are relaying commemorative letters in a "mochila." Cachets honoring the Ruby Valley Remount Station in Nevada may be purchased by NPEA members and the public. The envelopes will show they were carried by the Pony Express riders, and after arrival in St. Joseph, will be delivered by the U.S. Postal Service. Cost is $5, the same as in 1860.

To receive a ride schedule, ride letter application or membership information, contact the National Pony Express Association, P.O. Box 236, Pollock Pines, Calif. 95728. The Web site www.xphomestation.co has additional information and will have real time coverage of the re-ride.

The re-ride will be a 10-day, 24-hour-a-day, non-stop event by over 500 riders and horses. The 1,966-mile route will be over the Pony Express National Historic Trail through California, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming, Colorado, Nebraska, and Kansas to Missouri.

The event commemorates the Pony Express of 1860-1861. The Central Overland and California Pikes Peak Express Company carried letters and telegrams for 18 months to prove the Central Route through Salt Lake passable year round.

Schedule for ride through Nevada

-- Depart Woodfords

Wednesday 10 a.m.

-- Depart Carson City

Wednesday 3:35 p.m.

-- Depart Ft. Churchill

Wednesday 9:05 p.m.

-- Depart Shurz Highway

Thursday 1:05 a.m.

-- Depart Sand Springs

Thursday 4:35 a.m.

-- Depart Cold Springs, Nevada

Thursday 8:50 a.m.

-- Depart Railroad Pass, Nevada

Thursday 2:20 p.m.

-- Depart Grubb Wells, Nevada

Thursday 10:50 p.m.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment