Northern all-league teams are named

All-league teams in the Northern 4A in several sports feature many Carson Country athletes.

In volleyball, Carson High's Rachael DeRiemer and Douglas High's Brittany Addeo were named as the Sierra League's Co-Players of the Year.

Douglas and Carson, the top two teams in the league, combined to have five more players on the first team: Carson's Shannon Devereaux, Terri Niederer and Tabitha Adams and the Tigers' Cheryl Nicoll and Emily Haas.

Named to the second team were the Tigers' Michelle Paterson and Amee Christian. Carson's Kaitlin Brush was an honorable mention choice. The Tigers' Kira Brown was Co-Coach of the Year.

In the High Desert League, Galena's Joanna Hixon and Whitney Dibbler were named to the first team and Jenny Burrows was named to the second team.


State champion Luxchmi Gill was named to the all-Northern Region first team while Carson's Ciarra Christian and Galena's Nicole Pastrell and Michele Bick were named to the second team. Carson's Elizabeth Rankl and Douglas High's Keriann Zinke were named to the third team.


Carson's Shanna Sparks, who finished third in the state, was named to the all-Northern Region girls first team along with Galena's Chantel Williams. Carson's Sheena Bonaldi and Tiffany Halen, Galena's Alyssa Abbot and Douglas High's Taryn Joyce-Mendive and Monica Buccambuso were named to the second team.

For the boys, Carons' Josh Corder and Galena's Steve Pottey, Geoff Cassazza and James Parker were aall named to the first team. Galena's Raul Tibaduiza and Chase Correia were named to the second team.


Galena's Julianne Burgarello, the state champion, was named as the Northern Region's Player of the Year. Douglas High's Melissa Oglesby was named to the first team while Galena's Susanna Atherton and Laura Dietch were named to the second team.

For the boys, Andrew Eklov, who also won the state title, was named as Player of the Year. Galena's Taylor Ford and Daryl Gasca were named to the first team while Carson's Josh Brekken made the second team.

Galena's Zach Gross (girls) and Mark Hurst (boys) swept the Coach of the Year honors.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment