Carson boys runners win Incline Invitational

The Carson High boys cross country team looked impressive in winning the Incline Invitational on Friday.

Carson's girls weren't quite as fortunate as they were edged out for the title in their race by Galena. Shanna Sparks did win the individual crown for the Carson girls while Josh Corder placed second for the Senator boys.

Carson's boys won with 78 points while Truckee placed second (86) and Douglas finished third (93). In the girls race, Galena won with 39 points, followed by Carson (42).

Sparks won the girls race, finishing the 2.5-mile course in 16 minutes, 9 seconds. Galena's Shantel Williams placed second (17:23) while Douglas High's Monica Buccambuso took fifth (17:52).

The team title was decided in the next three places. Galena's Alyssa Abbott and Emilie Wark and Carson's Annie Brinson all finished in 18:01. But Abboth and Wark were able to edge Brinson for sixth and seventh while Brinson settled for eighth.

Carson's Sheena Bonaldi took ninth (18:31) and the Senators' Tiffany Halen placed 10th (18:34). Galena's Shanel Bolsta took 11th (18:35) and the Grizzlies' Anna Breen took 13th (19:14).

Carson's Janine Stone placed 14th (19:20), Galena's Laramee Scarte took 15th (19:27), the Senators' Amanda Benson placed 16th (19:33), Galena's Kathy Nichols took 17th (19:56) and the Grizzlies' Hanna Balkenbush took 18th (20:02). Terah Laack placed 33rd (21:13) for Carson.

In the boys race, Corder finished in 14:58 while Carson's Andrew Pederson took fourth (15:14). Other finishers for the Senators were: Ryan Turner, 21st, 16:35; Jason Strull, 22nd, 16:37; and Doug Holderman, 29th, 16:59.

Finishers for Douglas were: Elliott McPeek, 12th, 16:00; Tyler Hines, 13th, 16:10; Daniel Sipko, 17th, 16:23; Greg Mullen, 24th, 16:41; and Andrew Sturgess, 28th, 16:53.

In the junior varsity girls race, Patti Capistrant won (19:40) while Kristin Neddenreip took second (19:49) and Sumantha Pitts placed eighth (21:06) for Carson. For the Senator JV boys, Anthony Stewart placed second (16:34), Adam Houghton placed fourth (17:03) and Sam Saunders took fifth (17:08). For Douglas, Lee Holdman placed third (16:55).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment