Douglas County officials sworn in

Douglas County officials took their oaths of office at a Monday ceremony in the Minden Judicial Court chambers of Judge David Gamble.

Gamble and Judge Michael Gibbons presided over the ceremony.

Gibbons recognized several VIPs in the audience, including Judge Richard Glasson of the Tahoe Township Justice Court and retired Judge Steve McMorris of Douglas County.

Gamble led the 17 new officials in the oath of office. Laughter erupted as each member recited their respective seats, which made the oaths sound convoluted.

Gibbons told the group they have their jobs cut out for them and urged each to "approach the job with hard work, integrity and try to make it fun."

The following officials were sworn in:

Paul Gilbert, constable, East Fork Township, who first took office in January, 1983; Barbara Reed, clerk-treasurer since 1987; Scott Doyle, district attorney, and Roger Hargis, constable, Tahoe Township, who both took office in 1991; Jacques Etchegoyhen, county commissioner, District 2, since 1995; Ron Pierini, sheriff, since 1997; and newcomers District 4 County Commissioner Tim Smith, Assessor Doug Sonnemann and Recorder Werner Christen.

Douglas School Board trustees in attendance were Keith Roman, Area 7, since 2001; John Louritt, Area 4, 2002; Connie Wennhold, Area 6, 2002; and newcomer Sharla Hales, Area 2.

Trustees elected to the Indian Hills General Improvement District were Riley Evans, since 2002; Charles Swanson, 2002; and newcomer Art Baer.

Robert Hadfield of the Minden Town Board also was sworn in. He has been on that board for 16 years.

A reception with refreshments followed in the Douglas County Sheriff's Office training room.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment