Two candidates vie to replace school board trustee James Keegan

Douglas County school board members plan to interview two applicants this week, including a former board president, to replace Trustee James Keegan, who has resigned Dec. 16.

Either Don Forrester or Teri Jamin will be selected at a special board meeting at 5 p.m. Tuesday at Douglas High School. The replacement will carry out the rest of Keegan's term, which runs until 2004.

Keegan resigned after two years on the board. He did not comment about his resignation, but Douglas County School District Superintendent John Soderman said Keegan resigned for personal reasons.

Both trustee candidates will be interviewed at the meeting before one is chosen, said Pat Corbitt, secretary to the school board, and Soderman.

"It's a very big decision for the board to make," Corbitt said

"They're selecting one of their cohorts. They could give quite a bit of time to it."

Forrester and Jamin were the only applicants for the District 5 seat, which is in the foothills area south of Mottsville Lane, Sheridan Acres, Chambers Field and the Gardnerville Ranchos area south of Kimmerling Road.

The school board already has been given Forrester's and Jamin's applications to review.

Forrester, a retired attorney and rancher, moved to Douglas County in 1989. He served on the school board from 1992 to 2000, then did not run again, Corbitt said. Twice, he was vice president and president of the board.

"He was very involved in the Nevada Association of School Boards and served every officer level, including president," Corbitt said.

Jamin, a city planner in South Lake Tahoe since 1984, has been involved as a parent, Corbitt said, with two children attending Douglas County schools.

"She has volunteered at both Gene L. Scarselli Elementary School and Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School," Corbitt said.

Jamin recently joined the Douglas High School Educational Opportunities Committee.

Voting for trustee replacements is not uncommon for the school board.

Two current board members, Connie Wennhold and John Louritt, were appointed to replace trustees who quit. Both have since been elected to their seats.


What: Douglas County school board

When: 5 p.m. Tuesday

Where: Douglas High School library


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment