Carson planning commission gets new member

Cathleen Allison/Nevada Appeal Connie Bisbee is the newest member of the Carson City Planning Commission.

Cathleen Allison/Nevada Appeal Connie Bisbee is the newest member of the Carson City Planning Commission.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

The seven-member board charged with guiding growth in Carson City has one new face.

City supervisors last week appointed College Parkway resident Connie Bisbee to fill the one remaining year of a planning commission seat vacated by longtime commissioner Roger Sedway, who resigned in June.

Sedway said his workload, being in charge of construction at the Carson Tahoe Regional Medical Center, has grown too much to continue working on the commission.

"I just had too much on my plate," he said.

"I'd been on there (the commission) long enough and it seemed like it was time for someone else to come in."

Sedway had served one full four-year term on the commission and was nearly three years into his second.

Bisbee, a Nevada Parole Commissioner, will fill the seat until June, when the term officially ends.

Bisbee said if city supervisors express interest in her continuing on the commission, she will consider applying again.

The new planning commissioner has worked in criminal justice since 1986. She has a bachelor's degree in the field and a master's degree in counseling and human development, both from Troy State University.

"I've been looking for a community service project for some time," Bisbee said.

"With the city and how it's growing right now, I thought it would be exciting to have a hand in it."

Other community service groups the 47-year-old state employee has been a part of include organizations fighting driving-under-influence and domestic violence as well as a sheriff's funding disbursement board, all in Florida.

Supervisors also re-appointed planning commission Chairman John Peery and member William Vance to another four-year term.

Five other Carson City residents had applied for the three open positions.

Aside from Bisbee, Vance and Peery, the commission includes Craig Mullet, Mark Kimbrough, Roy Semmens and Steve Reynolds.

Kimbrough's and Bisbee's terms are scheduled to expire in June 2006.

- Contact reporter Cory McConnell at or 881-1217.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment