Carson swimmers sweep Douglas

The Carson High girls and boys swim teams swept Douglas to open the season on Friday at Minden's Carson Valley Aquatic Center.

Carson's girls rolled to a 200-94 win while the Senator boys held off the Tigers' challenge 141-112.

For the girls, Carson's 400 freestyle relay team of Abby Niehoff, Hilary Schlager, Julie Asire and Rebekah Niehoff won in three minutes, 56.32 seconds. Carson's 200 free relay team of Sarah Metcalf, Julie Asire, Lauren Metcalf and Barbara Perkins alson win in 1:52.94. The Douglas team of Josafina Sigala, Whitney Simpson, Mandy Moore and Rebecca Chappell won the 200 medley relay in 2:14.99.

Abby Niehoff led a 1-2-3 sweep in the 200 individual medley, winning in 2:16.58. Rebekah Niehoff was second in 2:26.31 and Hannah Nystrom was third. Rebekah Niehoff also won the 200 free in 2:08.77.

Sarah Metcalf led a 1-2-3 sweep in the 50 free, winning in 28.21. Lauren Metcalf was second in 28.40 and Melanie Gingell was third. Abby Niehoff also won the 100 butterfly (1:00.44).

Carson had two more 1-2-3 sweeps in the 100 and 500 freestyles. Asire won the 100 free in 57.18 and was followed by Hilary Schlager (59.85) and Melissa Wuster. Tatum Boehnke won the 500 free (5:28.87) and was followed by Perkins in second and Asire in third.

Perkins also won the 100 backstroke in 1:09.27, edging Sigala, who was second (1:09.87). Carson's Sarah Metcalf was third. Schlager won the 100 breaststroke in 1:16.89. Simpson was second and Carson's Danielle Judge was third. The Tigers' April Epps won the diving.

For the boys, Carson's Garrett Clayton, Matt Grunert, Kevin Dyer and Sam Ballard won the 400 free relay in 3:43.09. The Tigers' Blake Maxwell, James Barnard, Ben Weiss and Taylor Brockway won the 200 free relay in 1:45.51. Matt Grunert, Clayton, Kevin Dyer and Chris Earwood won the 200 medley relay for Carson in 1:53.60.

Grunert also won the 200 free in 1:54.73 while Brockway was second and Carson's Ian Murdock was third. Clayton won the 200 I.M. in 2:12.49.

Maxwell won the 50 free in 26.77. Barnard was second in 27.58 and Carson's Jacob Cornwell was third in 27.73. Dyer won the 100 fly in 59.95 and the 500 free in 5:02.43. The Tigers' Holden Sapp won the diving while Carson's Todd Banko took second.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment