The 2008 derby winners at Riordan Invitational Derby

Here are the winners at the 11th Annual John Riordan Topaz Lake Invitational Fishing Derby, which was headquartered at Topaz Lake:


1. J. W. Hatley of Minden: 2-pounds, 5.5 ounces: Weber Reservoir.

2. J. W. Hatley of Minden: 2-pounds: Weber Reservoir.

3. Joe Tamburlino of Dayton: 1-pound, 10.5 ounces: Weber Reservoir.

Cutthroat Trout:

1. Jim Bolta of Dayton: 3-pounds, 8.75 ounces: Walker Lake.

2. Mike Frank of Dayton: 3-pounds, 4.75 ounces: Walker Lake

3. Don Quilici of Carson City: 2-pounds, 13.5 ounces: Walker Lake

Rainbow Trout:

1. Bob "Slick" McCulloch of Carson City: 5-pounds, 7.5 ounces: East Walker River.

2. Norm Budden of Carson City: 5-pounds, 1/2 ounce: East Walker River.

3. Norm Budden of Carson City: 4-pounds, 1 ounce: East Walker River.

Brown Trout:

1. Eric Biddle of Carson City: 2-pounds, 15 ounces.

2. Carl Inman, Jr. of Virginia City: 1-pound, 7.5 ounces: East Carson River.

3. Bob Leininger of Dayton: 1-pound, 5.5 ounces.

Heaviest fish:

Bob McCulloch

Note: That fish is the heaviest trout ever entered in all Invitational Derbies.

There were 110 fishermen in the three-day, 2008 derby.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment