Battle brewing for Storey County School Board seat

After eight years of representing Seat 1B on the Storey County School Board, Curt Chapman was not planning to seek re-election.

But after Cathylee James, a former board member, filed for Seat 1A, he decided to file for the same position.

"I will tell you that after serving with Cathylee James for four years on the school board and having observed her for the three and a half years since, I don't think the Storey County School District will benefit from having her on that school board," he said. "So my plan, my intent, was to leave elected office after eight years of public service. But when she filed for that school board seat, I found it important to run in opposition to her."

Chapman said he never considered elected office a career, and had wanted to move on.

"But I see this as hugely important, that I'm willing to do this one more time," he said.

James declined to respond directly to Chapman's comments, but said she has received positive reactions to her candidacy from others.

"I was surprised at the outpouring of support when I was thinking of running for the school board again," she said. "We did good things when I was on the school board four years ago - we were a diverse board and the decisions we arrived at through debate and compromise were strong ones that benefited our children, our teachers and staff, and our community."

James is now president of the school boosters and said others in the group are also strong-minded.

"With anything you love to do, the more time you spend, the more time you want to give," she said. "I believe I have the time and commitment to devote to the school board for another term. There are lots of good things to do, once again."

The school board's election districts are broken down by seats 1A, 1B, 1C, 2A and 2B.

To be elected to Seat 1A, a candidate can live anywhere in Storey County; however, to run for seat 1B, or 1C, a candidate has to live outside Virginia City or Gold Hill.

Incumbent Chris Miller has filed to run for Seat 1C.

Seat 2A is restricted to Virginia City or Gold Hill residents and is currently held by Deny Dotson, and Seat 2B is for a resident outside Virginia City or Gold Hill. Pam Smith represents 2B, and neither 2A or 2B is up for election.

The only seat James, who lives in Virginia City, qualifies for is Seat 1A. Chapman, who lives in the Virginia City Highlands, can run for either seat. He filed Friday to run for Seat 1A.

Also filing in Storey County was Linda R. Dennis for Seat 2B of the Canyon General Improvement District.

In Lyon County, William Penaluna and incumbent James Huckaby have filed for Lyon County School Board District I seat, representing Fernley, incumbent Maureen Williss has filed to retain her District V seat representing Mason Valley, and incumbent Kelli B. Baratti, of Dayton, has filed for a seat on the Central Lyon County Fire Protection District board, as has Robert F. Schreihans, of Dayton, and Tonia Anderson of Silver Springs.

John E. Picetti and Chris Murphy have filed for a seat on the North Lyon County Fire Protection District Board.

Jeff Pope has filed for a seat on the Mason Valley Fire Protection District Board.

Incumbent Charles Lawson has filed for the Stagecoach General Improvement District. Gloria Jean Crockett also filed for a seat on the Stagecoach GID.

David Mendoza has filed for a position on the Fernley Swimming Pool General Improvement District.

Filing ends on Friday.

• Contact reporter Karen Woodmansee at or call 881-7351.

If you go

WHAT: Lyon County Commission meeting

WHEN: 9 a.m. Thursday

WHERE: Lyon County Administrative Complex, 27 South Main St., Yerington

CALL: 463-6531


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment