the Heat turns up

Steve Puterski / LVN File Photo

Steve Puterski / LVN File Photo

The Fourth of July holiday is going to be a scorcher.

While temperatures will hover near 100 degrees, drivers hit the track at Rattlesnake Raceway for their annual summer spectacle and includes the annual fireworks show.

Racing begins today and continues Thursday and features the Ironman Challenge with IMCA and Sport modifieds. In addition, the Northern Nevada Outlaw Karts will compete both days.

The action begins at 4:30 p.m. with the karts followed by the Ironman Challenge at 6:30 p.m. The pits open at 2:30 p.m.

According to Lahontan Auto Racing Association board member Stacey Wilson, the fireworks show will kick off around 9 p.m.

The Gen-X division will compete in a points race during today’s intermission, while the Hobby Stock class will engage in a points race on Thursday.

“We’ll have IMCA and Sport Mods doing the Ironman Challenge,” Lahontan Auto Racing Association board member Stacy Wilson said. “This is the third or fourth year we are doing the Ironman Challenge. It’s the first time we are doing it with the Fourth of July. We usually have a pretty good turnout.”

Racing is scheduled to resume after the fireworks display, she added.

Funds for the fireworks show, however, were donated by numerous local and regional businesses, while the city of Fallon covered the insurance policy, Wilson said.

On the track, meanwhile, Steve Evenson, meanwhile, holds a three-point edge over Missy Natenstedt in the IMCA division. Evenson took second in the June 15 race and aims to increase his points. Mark Skender (167) follows Evenson and Natenstedt in third, while Jerry Crowley (157) is fourth and Don Childs (146) is fifth.

In the Sport Mod class, Zachary Cail holds a 12-point lead over Pete Olsen, 196-184, through five races. Lee Ketten (139) sits in third followed by Tim Wearin (111), Chris Neal (103), Steve Foster (98) and Duncan Lee (79).

The Gen-X class also has a tight chase for the points title as Mikki Beauchat leads Shawn Hartzell, 184-182. Steve Eisele (174) rests in third followed by Kalie Pope (171), Dave Raber (167), Holly Olsen (164) and Christie Rasmussen (161).

In the Hobby Stock division, Royce Goetz holds a nine-point lead over Carl Barlow, 188-179. Aaron Benham sits in third (178) followed by Wes Washburn (173), Pete Baglin (148) and Dennis Buehn (146).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment