Carson High Football | Senators celebrate seniors, season

The annual season-ending Carson High football dinner isn’t your normal awards banquet.

It is all about the seniors, and giving the group one last send-off before preparations start toward the 2015 season. The 2014 season was another great one. It represented a fifth league/conference title in the past seven years. The Senators went 9-3 and reached the Division I regional finals, losing 28-25 to eventual state runner-up Reed.

Coach Blair Roman bid farewell to 17 seniors — Nolan Shine, Colby Brown, Brady Rivera, Dilyn Rooker, Jesse Medina, Maurilio Olivares, Josue Orozco, Gerardo Lobato, Seamus Burns, Corey Reid, Tyus Muckensturm, Brandon Maffei, Jon Davalos, Jacob Guthrie, David Ortega, Tyler Rogers and Conrad Franz — Monday night in the Carson Nugget Ballroom.The JV and freshman football teams were also acknowledged.

This senior group was highly decorated.

Shine, who had 70 tackles and two interceptions, was the Sierra League Defensive Player of the Year and he made all-region. Brown was the co-Offensive Player of the Year after rushing for 1,248 yards and 16 touchdowns in addition to 259 receiving yards. Rivera led the defense with eight sacks, and he was an all-Sierra League and all-region pick.

Rooker was an all-Sierra selection at wide receiver. He had 24 catches for 393 yards and three scores, and had 24 tackles plus four interceptions at cornerback. Orozco was a first-team pick on the offensive line, while Lobato, who had a team-leading four fumble recoveries, Olivares and Medina were second-team selections.

“It wasn’t like we had a lot of numbers (in the senior class),” Roman said. “The kids we had were quality. This group (of seniors) had the intangibles. We’ll see if next year’s seniors step up. We had some really good leaders on this team, guys like Brady and Nolan and Dilyn and Colby. The senior class was very talented, but we couldn’t have been successful without the junior class. There were not enough seniors.

Here are the 2014 senior football awards:

Captain Awards: Colby Brown, Nolan Shine, Brady Rivera and Maurilio Olivares

Most Outstanding Senior: Nolan Shine, Brady Rivera and Colby Brown

Pride Award: Dilyn Rooker

Most Improved Senior: Brandon Maffei

Hoggie Award: Josue Orozco and Maurilio Olivares

Black Hats Hammer Award: Gerardo Lobato

Pat Houlihan Warrior Award: Seamus Burns

Most Improved Senior Award: Brandon Maffei

Special Teams Award: Jacob Guthrie

Commitment Award: Jon Davalos

Hard Hat Weight Room Award: Jesse Medina

Senior Award: Conrad Franz and Tyler Rogers

Scout Team Award: Tyus Muckensturm and David Ortega

Scholar Athlete Award: Corey Reid


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment