Wrecking Crew reaches national team event

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Wrecking Crew of Dayton and Dragon Cues of Sparks qualified for the American Poolplayers 8-ball National Team Championship based on their recent performance at the Coconut Bowl in Sparks.

More than 700 teams from all over North America converged on the Riviera Hotel in Las Vegas Aug. 17-23 to compete for a national title and part of the $1 million guaranteed prize and cash rewards.

Members of the Dayton squad are Eddie Hult, Phil Nagel, Bobby Amos, Nikk Nealy, Joe Sbragia and Randy Steele.

Members of the Dragon Cues are Neal Way, Yvonne Lee, Mary Ann Cuffe, Mark Goulding, David Hann and Tracy Hann.

For more information about the APA call Heather Allison at 443-8844.

Thunder Canyon members

play progressive best ball

Susan Hood, Joyce Powell, Cathy Weise and Shirley Westfall combined for a 129 to win the women’s best-ball event. JoAnne McKnight, Kathy Cockerill, Claudia Goodnight and blind draw were four strokes back at 133 with Barbee Waldren, Jeanne Brennan. Mary Lou Boardman and blind score another four shots back at 137.

On the men’s side, Dan Culbert, Mike Dyer, Tom Ridgway and blind draw won with a 135, one shot better than Jack Bonar, Mike McGee, Mike Judge and Mike Bennert at 136. Bob Weise, Jim Valenta, Mike Fraga and Riley Beckett were third at 138.

Hood, Eng record aces

at Thunder Canyon course

Susan Hood made her first-ever hole-in-one on No. 17, a 137-yard par-3. She used an 8-iron.

Bill Eng aced the 155-yard par-3 12th at Thunder Canyon. He used a 6-iron.

Menezes wins flight

at Carson Valley

Marc Menezes recorded a net 68 to win Flight A over Jesus Ray at the recent Carson Valley Golf Club stroke play event on June 15. Daryle Lewis was third with a 70.

Jim Korzeniewski won Flight B with a 66, six shots better than Mike Davis and seven shots ahead of Augie Martinez and Chuck Householder. Frank Tisiot won Flight C with a 70, two shots better than Brent Holderman and three better than Matt Budjako. Gary Carsten won Flight D with a 68, three shots better than Jack Zippwald and four better than John Watson.

• The Carson Valley Couples League continues today at 5:30 p.m.

The $30 entry fee includes nine holes of golf, dinner and a $5 prize fund.

Rogers wins Empire

Ranch senior event

Mike Rodgers shot a net 61 to beat Phil King in a tiebreaker to win Flight A of the recent Empire Ranch Senior Men’s Club event on June 11. Roger Maxwell was third with a 62.

Dick Montoya won a tiebreaker over Ray Huntly for the Flight B title. Both had net 63s. Bob Pitcock was third with a 66.

Gary Mick won Flight C with a net 60, three strokes better than Tom Harlow and five better than Clark Reid.

Bob Hendry won Flight D in a tiebreaker over Rich Ziegler. Both finished with net 63s.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment