Tedford earns all-state honor

Running the point and taking control of the offense led Fallon junior Ali Tedford to capture more honors on Wednesday.

The Lady Wave guard was named by the coaches to the Division I-A’s first-team all state. She is joined by fellow northern players Serima Thompson of Spring Creek and Desirea Danner of Elko.

Tedford’s teammate, Hannah Lindsay, was named second-team all state and was joined by Kylee McClellan of Lowry, Shayla Butterfield of Elko and Shawntel Anderson of Spring Creek.

As for the all-North selections, Thompson was named the league’s Most Valuable Player and was a first-team honoree. Tedford, Danner, McClellan, Lindsay, Butterfield and Anderson were also first-team selections.

On the second team were Fallon’s Gabby Sharpe, Kaylee Neill of Truckee, Marissa Elquist of Elko, Maddy Merschel of Spring Creek, Lynsee Ferretto of Fernley and Alyssa Dendary of Lowry.

The honorable mention consisted of Fallon’s Megan McCormick, South Tahoe’s Ally King, Hannah Neiger and Riley Chapman, Lowry’s Jillian Albright, Jasmine Marchand and Payton Naveran, Dayton’s Angela Sikora, Truckee’s Sydney Mock, Elko’s Shay Digenaw, Sparks’ Roxi Guadrone and Spring Creek’s Ally Miller.

As for the boys, Elko’s Nathan Klekas and Brian Pearson and Josh Watterson were tabbed first-team all state along with Clark’s Diontea Jones and Colby Jackson and Desert Pines’ Re’meake Keith and Nate Grimes.

The second team features Lowry’s Calvin Connors and Garrett Naveran, Elko’s Brandon Jenkins, Sparks’ Isaiah Campbell, Coby Myles of Desert Pines, Garrett Leavitt of Virgin Valley and Daryl Adams of Mojave.

The first-team Northern I-A selections were MVP Watterson, Klekas, Pearson, Connors, Naveran, Jenkins and Campbell.

The second team features Fallon’s Jeff Evett, Lowry’s Tytus Millikan, Elko’s Tim Meo and Marshall Dumas and Spring Creek’s Caden Gunnell and Dustin Shafer.

The honorable mention included Fallon’s Connor Richardson, Truckee’s Nick Oberitter, Spring Creek’s Star ‘Ita, Lowry’s Josh Shaver, Dayton’s Austin Fletcher and Bernardo Macias and South Tahoe’s Jared Fajman, Dakoda Baca and Harry Moses-Chakmakis.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment