Western Nevada College offering driver’s education courses in Carson City and Douglas County

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Western Nevada College’s Carson City and Douglas campuses are offering new driver’s education courses for teens 15 and older this winter and spring.

There are enrollment openings for the Feb. 6-March 5, March 28-31 and April 16-May 7 sessions on the Carson City campus. Classes are planned March 28-31 and April 9-30 on the Douglas campus. Each session includes four days of instruction, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Cost is $100.

New this year, WNC is offering an online 30-hour New Driver Education Class for $90. This course provides a solid foundation of the knowledge and skills necessary to become a safe driver. Sign up at any time; students have 60 days to complete the course.

Young drivers will learn safe driving techniques through lectures, class discussion, guest speakers and films that cover Nevada driving regulations, basic vehicle control and driving maneuvers in various situations and environments. Nevada state law requires drivers younger than 18 to take a 30-hour New Driver Education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home.

In addition to Nevada driving regulations, the class covers how to handle distractions and peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel or driving under the influence. Speakers include public safety officials and insurance representatives. Instruction also includes tips on how to drive safely around large trucks and motorcycles; how to avoid unexpected objects in the road; maneuvering safely through roundabouts; and rules for driving in bad weather.

To register for the noncredit class, go to www.wnc.edu/drivereducation. For more information, call 775-445-4463.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment