Virginia City’s Dennis Young named D1 coach of year

Virginia City¹s Dennis Young was named the Division 1 Volleyball Coach of the Year.

Young guided the Muckers to a co-championship with Smith Valley. The Muckers, by virtue of tie-breakers, were the No. 1 playoff seed. They were eliminated in the regional semifinals.

Kaitlin Hames, Chelsea Nevin, Bethany Fuller and Emily Heinz were named to the six-player first team. Kim Tlapa was a second-team pick.

Shaylynn Call and Call Hess were honorable mention picks.

Brynna Hansen was the only Sierra Lutheran player honored, and she was a second-team selection.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment