CEDA honors community leaders

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

The Churchill Economic Development Authority recognized county residents on Nov. 9 who have made a difference in improving life in the Lahontan Valley.

The Merton Domonoske Award for A Lifetime of Service

Last year Paula Domonoske graciously allowed CEDA to name this award after her husband who served the community for many years. This year CEDA honors retired State Sen. Mike McGinness, whose record of service is second to none.

From his years of voluntary service in the Nevada Air National Guard, Kiwanis pancake breakfasts and Chamber of Commerce, to his service as an elected representative on our school board, as our assemblyman, and three-term state senator, CEDA honors Mike McGinness for a lifetime of service to this community.

The Virgil Getto Award for Dedication to the Promotion of the Agriculture Industry

Thanks in no small part to former farmer and state legislator Virgil Getto and like-minded individuals, the great agricultural industry’s contribution to the local economy is second only to that of Naval Air Station Fallon, but those in that industry strive to make the agricultural community second to none.

Among the many local dairies, Sand Hill Dairy adds value to the industry through its value-added processing of milk, cheese and the best chocolate milk buddies on the planet.

The Carl Dodge Award for believing big and taking great risks to improve family, industry, and community

State Sen. Carl Dodge was a man with great vision for this community that was reflected in his service at both the local and state levels, extending far beyond title alone.

This year CEDA honors realtor Bob Getto whose impact extends far beyond his decades of involvement in the local and state real estate community. It also includes his service on local boards and the work assumed in becoming the Public Administrator for Churchill County.

CEDA recognizes Getto for all he does to improve this community for industry and our families.

The Newell Mills Award for Innovation in Industry that improves the economic viability of the entire community

Newell Mills was an innovator in the dairy industry his entire life and assured our community’s place on the map. This award recognizes Innovation in Industry that improves the economic viability of the entire community. This year CEDA honors a longtime resident, Dee Dee Ferguson, who has left a lasting mark on her community, especially in her corner of Fallon’s historic commercial corridor.

Always greeting people with a smile, able to re-invent her business opportunities as challenges present themselves and never shy about offering free advice to any fellow small business owner, Ferguson is recognized for her sustained contribution to the community’s economic viability.

The Stuart Richardson Award for working behind the scenes to silently save and support the community

CEDA honors a man who has worked since joining the community in the public arena, but more importantly, behind the scenes to quietly make things better for everyone.

Councilman Bob Erickson’s unassuming demeanor certainly reflects the humility with which he has served this community but cannot accurately reflect the impacts made in his time of service, in business, as councilman, and former mayor.

Cut from the same cloth as Dr. Stuart Richardson, Erickson silently serves and supports the community, never asking anything in return.

The Shirley Walker Award for building beautifully the civility, culture, and collaboration in the community

The contributions given by former CEDA director Shirley Walker in her time of service to this community are truly immeasurable as are those of this year’s honoree.

While he may appear to be an ordinary, longtime small business owner, or a humble public servant as past city councilman or current mayor, Ken Tedford’s influence and guidance in mentoring the new generation of community leaders and growing his community and into the extraordinary place we all call home is why CEDA honors him with the Shirley Walker award.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment