Applications being accepted for first-ever Greenwave Hall of Fame Class

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

For the first time in Churchill County High School history, standout student-athletes, coaches and contributors will be honored with the newly created Greenwave Hall of Fame.

The first class will be inducted Oct. 7 and nominations are due by May 31. Those selected to the class of 2017 will be notified by June 30.

More than 100 years span the history of the Greenwave, which currently competes in the state’s second-largest class (3A). Many great athletes, coaches and contributors have been part of Fallon’s success throughout the years, including ex-Nevada football coach Chris Ault, whose first coaching job was as an assistant with the Greenwave for one year, and Chris Klenakis, who coached at Nevada with Ault and is now the offensive coordinator at Louisville.

Recent notable alums include Olympian Aarik Wilson, NFL stars Josh Mauga and Harvey Dahl, national collegiate volleyball champion and Stanford grad Jennifer Hucke, and ex-Nevada volleyball stars Tristin (Adams) Johnson and Carly (Sorensen) Sipherd.

Notable coaches include the late Edward Arciniega and Elmo Dericco, and former Nevada women’s track and field coach Bert Serrano.

To nominate, visit for an application or visit Churchill County High School or the Lahontan Valley News for a hard copy. Electronic applications must be emailed to

For donation or sponsorship opportunities, contact Thomas Ranson.

Follow us on Facebook at


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment