Lucky 13: Carson City officials sworn in

Judge James E. Wilson swears in Ward 3 Supervisor Lori Bagwell.

Judge James E. Wilson swears in Ward 3 Supervisor Lori Bagwell.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Carson City officials elected last year took their oaths of office on Monday.

Thirteen local officials were sworn in on the third floor of the Carson City Courthouse in the speciality courtroom packed with family and friends.

Judge James T. Russell began the proceedings and swore in Aubrey Rowlatt, clerk-recorder; Jason Woodbury, district attorney; Kenneth Furlong, sheriff; Stacey Giomi, supervisor, Ward 1; and Kristin Luis, Justice of the Peace, Dept. 2.

Judge James E. Wilson then administered the oath as a group to the school trustees — Lupe Ramirez, district 1; Stacie Wilkie, district 3; Richard Varner, district 4; and Donald Carine, district 6 — followed by the swearing in of David Dawley, assessor; Gayle Robertson, treasurer; Lori Bagwell, supervisor, Ward 3; and Thomas Armstrong, Justice of the Peace, Dept. 1.

“It is a real honor,” said Giomi after the ceremony. “I take the responsibility very seriously.”

Giomi takes over Ward 1 from Karen Abowd, who served two terms and didn’t seek re-election. Bagwell was re-elected last year for a second term.

“I get goosebumps when I see our folks get sworn in,” said Mayor Bob Crowell, who attended the swearing in, which started at noon. “This is democracy at the local level, people putting themselves out every day to make Carson City better.”

On Sunday, Crowell welcomed then-Gov.-elect Steve Sisolak to Carson City.

Crowell, who lives near the Governor’s Mansion, took Sisolak and his wife Kathy, now First Lady, around the Mountain Street neighborhood to meet several of their neighbors.

Sisolak was also sworn on Monday, in front of the state Capitol.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment