Nevada Democrats elect Sanders-aligned progressive as chair

 LAS VEGAS — The head of the Clark County Democratic Party has been elected as the chair of the Nevada State Democratic Party.
Judith Whitmer defeated Clark County Commissioner Tick Segerblom, 248-216, during a virtual election on Saturday in which the state party's governing members picked new officers.
Outdoing chair William McCurdy II did not seek reelection.
Whitmer and Segerblom are aligned with party progressives who supported Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders' presidential runs but the Las Vegas Review-Journal reported that most elected Democratic officials backed Segerblom.
Sanders released a statement congratulating Whitmer and said she knows Democrats must "invest in year-round grassroots organizing focused on the principles of economic, social, racial and environmental justice."
In addition to Whitmer, Democrats picked Jacob Allen as first vice-chair; Dr. Zaffar Iqbal as second vice-chair; Ahmed Ade as secretary; and Lance Arberry as treasurer.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment