Primary election day nears

A resident votes at the Churchill County Commission chambers last week during early voting. The final day for voting is Tuesday at the Fallon Convention Center.

A resident votes at the Churchill County Commission chambers last week during early voting. The final day for voting is Tuesday at the Fallon Convention Center.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF
Voting is in the home stretch with early voting ending on Saturday and the primary election slated for Tuesday at the Fallon Convention Center.

Early voting ends Friday in the commissioners’ chamber at 155 N. Taylor St. from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Voting at the convention center is 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

In regional and local elections, Churchill County voters will decide on the following races: Churchill County Commission, Assembly District 38 and State Senate 17.

For the first week of in-person voting, 471 residents cast ballots which included 378 Republicans, 66 Democrats and 27 other. Out of 13,829 mail-in ballots sent, the Churchill County Clerk’s office reports 952 were returned during the first week of early voting. The Republicans returned 464 ballots, while the Democrats sent in 325 ballots. Other totaled 163.
Secure ballot drop boxes are located at both the Clerk’s Office and Recorder’s Office entrances. A drop box will be located at the north end of the county’s administration building and inside at the Fallon City Clerk’s office and Tribal Administration office on Rio Vista Drive.
Seeking the open Commission District 2 seat is Tanya Freeman, Myles Getto, Kenneth Harmon and Thomas Riggins. Pete Olsen is termed out and cannot run again.

Since all the candidates are Republican, the winner of the primary election will serve as commissioner for the next four years.

Two veteran legislators are running for the open state Senate office.

Dr. Robin Titus is a Lyon County physician and current assemblywoman in District 38, and James Wheeler is a Douglas County rancher and current assemblyman for District 39. Both candidates are Republicans.

The term for the Senate position is four years. Current Sen. James Settelmeyer is termed out.
Candidates for Assembly District 38 are Vida Keller, a Lyon County commissioner and Silver Springs real estate agent, and Dr. Greg Koenig, a Fallon optometrist. Both are Republicans. The winner of the primary election will serve in the Assembly.

Five candidates running for re-election in the local county offices received no opposition. They are Denise Mondhink-Felton, assessor; Linda Rothery, clerk/treasurer; Art Mallory, district attorney; Robert Getto, public administrator; and Tasha Hessey, recorder. Sheriff Richard Hickox is opposed by Daniel Sharp, and since that office is nonpartisan, the winner will be decided in November.

Voters will also cast votes in the fall for the Churchill County School Board.

Churchill County voters will also vote for candidates seeking state and federal offices. For a list of statewide candidates who are running for U.S. Senate, Congressional District 2, governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, treasurer, secretary of state, controller and the courts, go to and search for 2022 Statewide Certified List of Candidates.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment