Candidates Night coming up for local offices

Adobe Stock

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Only a few days remain before the community will meet and hear from the candidates running for Fallon mayor, the Churchill County Commission districts 1 and 3 and the New River Township Justice of the Peace.

The Churchill County Republican Central Committee is sponsoring Candidates Night on Monday beginning at 5:30 p.m. at the Fallon Convention Center. The mayor’s race is scheduled first.

Co-hosts include The Fallon Post, the Lahontan Valley News and the Lahontan Valley Broadcasting Co. The event is also airing over KVLV-AM Radio (980), KKTU (99.5 FM) and streaming over the internet on Network1Sports.

Members from The Fallon Post, the Lahontan Valley News and the CCRCC will ask questions of all candidates pertaining to their specific offices.

The mayor’s race will include incumbent Ken Tedford, owner of Tedford Tires, and his challengers retired businessman Luai Ababneh and businessman Jacob Robertson. The term for both partisan county commission races is for four years and mayor serves for four years.

The commission portion will begin at 6:30 p.m. The two commission districts have a total of six candidates: Running for Commission District 1 is Julie Guerrero-Goetsch and Matt Hyde, and seeking District 3 seat are Eric Blakey, John Caetano, Rusty Jardine and Todd Moretto. Since all the candidates are Republican, the winner of the primary election from each race will serve as commissioner for the next four years but will still appear on the general election ballot.

Justice of the Peace is for a six-year term, and the questioning will begin no later than 8:15 p.m. The races for mayor and JOP are nonpartisan with the two top candidates advancing to the general election.

Three candidates are seeking the New River Township Justice of the Peace. Incumbent Ben Trotter is running for a second term, and his challengers are Brenda Ingram and Stuart Richardson.

Councilwoman Karla Kent is running unopposed. The city races are also nonpartisan.

Three candidates are running for two seats on the nonpartisan Mosquito, Vector & Noxious Weed Abatement Board. They are incumbents Cynthia McGarrah and Marion Jonte and newcomer David Brown. They will appear on the general election ballot instead of the primary election ballot, reports the clerk’s office.

The Churchill County Clerk’s office reports Nevada is a closed primary election state. If residents register with the Democratic or Republican Party, they may vote only for candidates from their own party, but they may also vote in nonpartisan contests. If voters chose a party affiliation other than Democratic or Republican, they may vote only in nonpartisan contests.

For a list of statewide candidates who are running for U.S. Senate, Congressional District 2, governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, treasurer, secretary of state, controller and the courts, go to and search for 2024 Statewide Certified List of Candidates

The primary will be held June 11. Early voting for the primary runs from May 25 and ends June 7 at the Churchill County Administration Building and May 25 and June 1 at the Fallon Paiute Shoshone Tribe Community Learning Center. The polls will be closed Memorial Day.

The Churchill County Clerk’s office was sending out sample ballots no later than May 11.

The clerk’s office encourages voters to check their registration by contacting 775-423-6028 or Voters can also check their registration at

All registered voters in Nevada will receive a ballot by mail. Voters had 60 days prior to the primary election to opt out of receiving mail-in ballot.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment