Pioneer Academy holds NHS induction, awards ceremony

Thirty-eight Pioneer Academy students received awards for attendance, scholarship and excellence in the classroom during a ceremony on April 25.

Thirty-eight Pioneer Academy students received awards for attendance, scholarship and excellence in the classroom during a ceremony on April 25.

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Pioneer Academy celebrated a combined National Honor Society Induction and awards ceremony April 25. Thirty-eight students received awards for attendance, scholarship and excellence in the classroom.

Mayor Pro Tem Stacey Giomi presented the awards on behalf of Mayor Lori Bagwell for perfect attendance. Students Christina Taylor, Apple Aguilar, Alexander Jeffries, Ashley Ellis, Kaitlyn Nguyen, William Houk, Kameron Harris, Josiah Diaz and Nikki Mae Dimarucut were announced for attendance awards.

In addition to medals from Carson City School District, each winner received an award certificate, two movie passes and a gift certificate from Scoups Ice Cream and Soup Bar. Nikki Dimarucut won the raffle for the $250 cash grand prize. The program was made possible by local businesses Glen Eagles Restaurant, Carson City Toyota, Greater Nevada Credit Union, Battle Born Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Galaxy Theaters and Scoups Ice Cream and Soup Bar.

Academic letters were awarded to students who had earned a 3.5 grade point average for both semesters while attending Pioneer Academy. Kylee Kraus-Mays received her letter for her three years at Pioneer. Two-year recipients were Brooklynn Case, Mason Dey and Kaitlyn Nguyen. One-year recipients included Savannah Garcia, Wren Sanchez Flores, Kathleen Bobula-Salazar, Kat Folster, Jonathan Powell, Olivia Cordova, Deb Uzzell, Haven Bryant, Ashley Ellis, Will Houk, Ameilia McCurdy and Vanessa Tran.

Individual subject awards were granted to the student in each department that has shown excellence among his or her peers. Kylee Kraus-Mays received the award for English, Vanessa Tran for mathematics, Ameilia McCurdy for biological sciences, Kaitlyn Nguyen for physical sciences, Claire Callister for social sciences, Maggie Uzzell for foreign languages, Opal Campbell for art, Debbie Uzzell for engineering, Ethan Calvello for physical education, Brooklynn Case for Jobs for Nevada Graduates (J4NG) and Olivia Cordova for Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID).

National Honor Society members were honored for their commitment to their education by maintaining a 3.0 cumulative GPA, showing character and leadership in the school and community and continuing their dedication to serving others. Within the last year, NHS members reinstated the Pioneer Academy library, hosted a food drive for Friends in Service Helping, hosted a pet food and supply drive for the Nevada Humane Society, supported the Pioneer staff with the Adopt-a-Teacher program, encouraged school positivity with No Drama March and wrote letters and cards for those in long-term care for mental and physical health.

New and returning NSA members include Alicia Aguilar, Brooklynn Case, Mason Dey, Christina Taylor, Dulce Perez Montero, Kathleen Bobula-Salazar, Claire Callister, Grace Jensen, Kylee Krause-Mays, Jonathan Powell, Mallorie Sheley-Brendel, Apple Aguilar, Haven Bryant, Olivia Cordova, Ashley Ellis, Hannah Gerow, Acire Kapsoff-Atilano, Kaitlyn Nguyen, Debbie Uzzell, Maggie Uzzell, Alexa Delatrinadad, Natalie Duenas, Baylee Finch, Jacob Freeman, Will Houk, Ameilia McCurdy, Claudia Padilla, Angie Rampley and Vanessa Tran.

“We are so proud of the dedication and commitment of all these students and the achievements each have earned,” said Cary Jordan, counselor at Pioneer Academy. “Thanks to everyone who has supported and encouraged these amazing people. We look forward to the amazing things they will do in the future.”


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment