NNDA Awards presented in Carson City

Jacob Bertocchi was honored witht he SIver State Award (outstanding student).

Jacob Bertocchi was honored witht he SIver State Award (outstanding student).

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Carson City Mayor Bob Crowell was named 2014 Pioneer of the Year by the Northern Nevada Development Authority Thursday at the Carson Nugget for his contributions to the city and the Sierra region.

Other nominees of NNDA Pioneer Awards include, winners are bolded:

The Battle Born Award (best green practices): Nevada Rural Housing Authority, and Silver State Elementary GREEN team.

The Boundary Peak Award (outstanding nonprofits): Carson Animal Services Initiative, Comstock Foundation for History and Culture, NCET, Nevada Rural Housing Authority, Northern Nevada Tool Library, and Silver Stage Co-Op Association.

The Comstock Award (innovator of the year): Pro Group Management and St Mary’s Art Center.

The Doc Holliday Award (healthcare initiative): Churchill Community Coalition and Lyon County Healthy Communities Coalition.

The Homestead Award (agriculture initiative): Dairy Farmers of America, EasyKeeper, and Frey Ranch Estate Distillery.

The Kit Carson Award (entrepreneur of the year): Charles Harrall, Kay Bennett, and Renee Plain, In Plain Sight Marketing LLC in Carson City.

The Mark Twain Award (marketing campaign): Carson City Toyota Scion and Live Local Fallon

The Pony Express Award (community involvement) Carson City, NCET and Nevada Rural Housing Authority.

The Silver Apple Award (educator of the year): Carson City School District, Learn @ Reno Collective, and Western Nevada College.

The Silver Spur Award (employee of the year): Derek Stanford of the U.S Postal Service and Monica McDonald Personnel Plus Staffing.

The Silver State Award (outstanding student): Jacob Bertocchi and Shae Starbuck.

The Wagon Wheel Award (new technology or product): Dairy Farmers of America, Pro Group Management and Zephyr Photonics.

Honored by individual counties in the NNDA region were Ametherm (Carson City), Frey Ranch Estate Distillery (Churchill County), Bently (Douglas County), Best Environmental (Lyon County) and the Comstock Foundation for History and Culture (Storey County).

Special awards were given to the Nevada Rural Housing Authority, Western Nevada College and Kay Bennett of Silver Springs Airport.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment