Community Roundup: Five Dayton players grab Northern 1-A honors

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Dayton High School placed five players on the Northern 1A all-league team released by the coaches.

The Dust Devils failed to place a player on the first team offense or defense.

Skyler Berntson, who rushed for 1,098 yards and 12 scores according to stats turned into MaxPreps, was a second-team running back. He had 31 tackles on defense and was a second-team defensive selection.

Jesus Castaneda was a second-team selection on both offense and defense. He had 41 tackles and three sacks. Jon Joyner, who had 92 tackles and a sack, was a second-team linebacker selection and honorable mention offensive lineman. Quinn Santana, who rushed for 568 yards and five scores, and had 57 tackles, was HM on offense and defense. Safety John Aguilar, who had 40 tackles and an interception, was an HM selection on defense.

Fallon’s Nathan Heck was named Player of the Year, and teammate Joe Pyle and Beau Billingsley shared Offensive Player of the Year. Justin Hatfield of Fallon was Defensive Player of the Year and Fallon’s Brooke Hill was named Coach of the Year.

• In volleyball, Kaylee Turner was named a second-team middle blocker and Cheyanne Strong was a second-team outside hitter.

Strong had 253 kills, 40 aces and 162 digs in helping Dayton to a 21-10 record and a regional playoff berth. Turner had 151 kills, 36 aces, 45 digs and 45 blocks.

Setter Shalia Powell (577 assists), libero Elvia Diaz (214 digs) and outside hitter Rachel Hadley (132 kills, 97 digs) were honorable mention selections.

Lowry’s Megan Allen was Coach of the Year and Elko’s Kelsie Gailey was Player of the Year.

• In boys soccer, forward Jaime Avila, defender Sergio Talavera and middle fielder Jordy Diaz were honorable mention selection.

Truckee’s Tom Arnstein was Player of the Year and Truckee’s Casey Eberhardt was Coach of the Year.

• In girls soccer, Kristina Mason and Karla Montano were honorable mention picks.

South Tahoe’s Jordyn Dion was Player of the Year and Sparks’ Arturo Hurtado was Coach of the Year.

Kalley, Klatt spark Tigersharks

Ewan Kalley placed fourth overall and Katarina Klatt was fifth in their age group at the recently concluded Nevada State Swimming Championships at the Carson Aquatic Facility.

Kalley, 8, was fourth in the 50 fly, eighth in the 50 back and 100 IM, 10th in the 50 breaststroke, 13th in the 100 free, 18th in 25 free and 20th in the 50 free.

Klatt, 8, was fifth in the 50 back and free, sixth in the 100 IM, seventh in the 25 fly and 100 free, ninth in the 25 free and 10th in the 50 fly.

Swimmers who placed in the top 10 in their events were: Matteas Klatt, Brett Kolb, Nick Melsheimer, Morgan Nelson, Tallon Rauch, Kennedy Redican and Nicole Van Geel.

The relay team of Klatt, Brynn Russell, Lilli Kolb and Alexander Llamas-Cruz placed fourth in the 100 IM relay and sixth in the 100 free relay. Morgan Nelson, Kaitlyn Nelson, Hannah Presley and Van Geel were seventh in the 13-14 free relay, and the 400 free relay of Christy Krahn. Cristina Saenz, Ashley Meyer and America Brena were eighth in the 11-18 age group. Melsheimer, Aaron Ramirez, Jake Xie and Jonah Moniz placed in the boys 9-10 200 free relay.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment