Sisolak reimposes indoor masking mandate in 12 counties including Carson, Douglas and Lyon

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF
Gov. Steve Sisolak on Tuesday afternoon issued a directive re-imposing indoor mask requirements effective July 30 at 12:01 a.m.

The directive applies to 12 of Nevada’s 17 counties excluding only Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Pershing and Storey counties.

He said the order comes after the Centers for Disease Control issued new guidance Tuesday reversing its May guidance allowing vaccinated people to go without masks indoors.

He said the 12 counties including Carson and Douglas as well as Washoe County are at risk for elevated transmission of the delta variant that now accounts for some 80 percent of new infections including some among vaccinated people.

The new CDC guidelines also recommend universal masking for all teachers, students and visitors to K-12 schools regardless of vaccine status.

The relaxation of mask requirements Sisolak issued in May was contingent on CDC future guidance.
The press release also says Nevadans in areas where local governments have tougher mandates must follow those tougher rules.

While businesses have a three-day grace period, he urged them to adopt the mask rules as soon as possible.


Sign in to comment