Late founder leads Greenwave Hall of Fame inductions

Greenwave Hall of Fame founder Paul Orong, bottom right, and broadcaster Larry Barker, top right, will be inducted into this year’s class.

Greenwave Hall of Fame founder Paul Orong, bottom right, and broadcaster Larry Barker, top right, will be inducted into this year’s class.
John Dirickson

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

A year after his death, Greenwave Hall of Fame founder Paul Orong is one of 13 to be inducted into this year’s class.

Orong, who founded the Hall of Fame more than six years ago, will be inducted along with four others into the Contributor category. In all, five contributors, five athletes and three teams will be honored at the Oct. 7 ceremony.

“We are super excited about our new class for the Hall of Fame,” President Steve Heck said. “They represent decades of talent and commitment to Greenwave sports. They are a deserving group of nominees who continue our goal of honoring excellence.”

Along with Orong, broadcaster Larry Barker, Jim and GeorgeAnne Ritter, softball coach John Short and John Huckaby will be inducted.

Barker, who currently broadcasts play-by-play for the Greenwave football, basketball, and baseball and softball teams, was inducted into the Nevada Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame last year.

The Ritters were well known in the wrestling community with Jim being an icon, locally and regionally. He was named by USA Wrestling as the “Person of the Year” for his commitment. Their son, Mickey, will also be inducted in the Athlete category.

Short was a top assistant coach for the Greenwave softball program before transitioning to helping Oasis Academy. While with Fallon, Short assisted Phil Pinder to back-to-back state titles in 2011 and 2012. He helped guide the Bighorns to a 1A softball championship in 2021.

Huckaby contributed to the baseball and golf communities, setting up the junior golf program in 1985 and running it until 2020.

Five athletes — Pete Leavitt (1961) and Kelly Frost (1983), and wrestlers Mickey Ritter (1991), Dan Shaw (2000) and Glenn Shaw (2002) — will be inducted.

Leavitt was the quarterback of the football team, played point guard in the winter and pitched during the spring when Fallon won the state title in 1958. Leavitt shined on the baseball field where he played for Nevada, including a performance when he struck out 22 in a one-hitter, to go along with five years of playing semi-pro ball.

Frost was a three-sport athlete and shined most on the softball diamond before being named the school’s Female Co-Athlete of the Year in 1983. Frost, who also played basketball and volleyball, became a four-year letter winner when she played softball at Nevada.

Ritter, whose parents will go into the Hall of Fame as contributors, leads the trio of state championship wrestlers who will be inducted this fall.

In his four-year career, Ritter finished 145-16 and captured two state championships before wrestling for Cal State Bakersfield in the Pacific 10 conference.

The Shaw brothers dominated the mat in the late 1990s and early 2000s with the elder Shaw, Dan, winning two state titles and receiving All-American honors at the Tournament of Champions. Brother Glenn saved his best for last, winning the state title his senior year along with a second-place finish at the World of Wrestling Championships.

Three teams — the undefeated 1953 and 1954 girls basketball teams, and the 1963 state championship football team — will be recognized during the fall ceremony.

Greenwave Hall of Fame

Class of 2023


1953 Girls Basketball

1954 Girls Basketball

1963 Football


Kelly Frost

Pete Leavitt

Mickey Ritter

Dan Shaw

Glenn Shaw


Paul Orong

Larry Barker

Jim and GeorgeAnne Ritter

John Short

John Huckaby


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment