Bighorns to hold Military Appreciation Day

  • Discuss Comment, Blog about
  • Print Friendly and PDF

Opening day for the Nevada Bighorns baseball team will be a special affair this year as it will also be Military Appreciation Day.

The Bighorns will open their season on Saturday, May 31 against Chico with a doubleheader at Western Nevada College's John L. Harvey Field, beginning at 2 p.m. The teams will play two seven-inning games.

Admission to the games are free, but donations will also be taken with all the proceeds going to organizations that assist all military personnel and veterans and their families, including those from Nevada currently deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan. All of the proceeds from concession sales will go to programs assisting the military, veterans and their families as well.

The festivities will begin at 1 p.m. with about a 30-minute ceremony that will honor all those who have served in all branches of the military, past and present. Among those scheduled to participate in the ceremony are members from Carson High's ROTC, who will present the Color Guard.

Nevada Secretary of State Ross Miller and several military members are also scheduled to throw out the ceremonial first pitch.

In addition, the Bighorns will hold its fundraising golf tournament on Sunday, June 15 at the Dayton Valley Golf and Country Club. Shotgun start for the four-person scramble is 9 a.m.

Cost is $125 per player which includes 18 holes of golf with cart, range balls, tee prizes and a barbecue lunch. Hole sponsorships are $100.

The Bighorns roster this year is scheduled to feature several Division I players, including four players from the University of Nevada and two from Washington State. Those scheduled to be on the roster include:

Adam Anderson, Carson High; Darren Boone, Silver Stage; Colt Dotson, Virginia City; Royal Good, Carson/Lassen/New Mexico State; Tyson Jaquez, WNC/Nevada; Shane Kockenmeister, Galena; Matt McDougal, Virginia City; Eric Melendez, Carson; Billy Moss, Silver Stage; Nick Nyman, the starting shortstop for San Francisco State; Tommy O'Brien, Dayton.

Jesse Rasner, Lassen; Kevin Schlange, Carson/WNC; Ryan Shepard, Dayton; Jonathan Silva; Ryan Simpson; Jeff Young; Marshall Kennebrew, WNC; D.J. Brady, Douglas; Eric Maupin, Galena/Washington State; Troy Morris, a pitcher from Division II Hillsdale College in Michigan; and Aaron Henry, Carson/WNC/Nevada.

Those who want more information on the golf tournament or would like to help sponsor the Military Appreciation Day can call Bighorns coach Dennis Young, 721-3025 or 267-2283.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment